Antec Home Antec Info Antec products Where to buy Antec support Antec enclosures Antec PSUs Antec media components Antec accessories Antec cooling Antec 80 PLUS products

Thread: Antec P280 false advertising

Thanks

Antec P280 false advertising

Hello,

I just bought a new Antec P280 case and I am very upset and disappointed with it. Because I work in the IT business, over the years I installed quite a few systems in different cases. My favorite brand so far was Antec due to the fact that you could rely on a good choice of materials, thick steel and overall quality of their products. I own an Antec NSK 4000, Antec P182 and one P280.

Both the NSK and P182 are made from 0.8mm steel, which I cannot say about the P280, which is noticeably thinner. It is so much thinner that it can be felt with a single touch, but I had to use a measuring tool and confirm this as I could not believe it. The P280 box mentions that one of the P280 main points is the 0.8mm steel, which is FALSE!
    The P280 is not worthy of the P series, it is an insult to all the people who spend money for a somewhat premium case, and instead receive a bad joke.

First of all, the steel is thinner, even if the box says otherwise and there are several other things that disappoint.

Compared to the P182 case, which I owned as my main system case for more than 4 years, I have the following to say about the new P280:

The steel is thinner -> THE BOX IS A LIE!
    Sound dampening material is used only on the side panels and the door. None on the top or bottom, parts of the case, which due to the thinner steel now sound and flex like cheap Delux cases.
    The silicone feet are similar to some I have seen used on cheap Nox cases, with only a thin strip of silicone on the bottom, the rest being hard plastic, as opposed to the full silicone ones used on the P182.