Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need advice on viewing a second hand car

Thanks

Need advice on viewing a second hand car

I’m about ready to buy my second car and its probably going to be VW Golf mark 4. I’ve been driving a 1991 1l Micra for the past 3 years and its finally time to get some nice wheels. I’ve got a budget of about £2800 and I’m looking to get a 1.9 turbo diesel / manual version.
    What I need advice on is what to look for when viewing cars. I’m no expert and usually would take a mechanic friend along but at the moment I can’t get anyone with any substantial know how. I’ve got a car to view on Monday afternoon which Ill be going along to with my brother who knows a little more about me than cars.

The main things I’m worried about are the engine the clutch and the turbocharger.

Are there any standard checks that you could talk me through?
    I know a little about checking the oil making sure it’s at the right level and looking for white residue marks and frothing.

Looking for leaks from the radiator, looking for general leaks of water, oil, hydraulic fluid.

I’ve been told to look for a smoky exhaust and to check the colour of the exhaust. If it looks blue something may be wrong with the turbocharger. White smoke indicates the head gasket which I should walk away from.

Other checks are improper wheel alignment which is indicated by disproportionate tyre wear. Rust under wheel arches. Checking the suspension by bouncing all four corners of the car.

Clutch can be checked by trying to drive off in 3rd gear, if the car stalls then the clutch isn’t slipping. Listen out for crunching and grinding while changing gears, gear changes should be smooth.

I was also told about checking the wishbone suspension at the front of the car? But not too sure about that. If anyone has any suggestions about that Id be grateful/

If I jack the car up to look under it what sort of things should I be looking out for?