Thread: Watercooling with a central heating radiator?

Thanks

Watercooling with a central heating radiator?

So I'm completely new to water cooling, I own a closed loop cooler and I know the names of the water cooling parts and assembly, but I have no real experience.

I presume it's possible to use a household radiator as a passive radiator in a loop, but I've got a couple of questions. First, do I have to be worried about what the radiator and waterblocks are made of- are the metals important? Second, will I need a significantly more powerful pump than the standard D5?

Thanks!

P.S. the rad I had in mind is this http://www.screwfix.com/p/flomasta-t...-x-800mm/38602 It's rated for 1505 BTU/hour, which equates to 441W, which is in theory plenty my PC (4670K, HD7850 which I'll probably upgrade in the near future)

The reason for using this kind of radiator is because they're far cheaper and passive, although I suppose the increase in pump power may negate quietness of no fans. It's also more fun

The late but legendary peterb - Onward and Upward peterb's Avatar
    Thanks

Re: Watercooling with a central heating radiator?

At that price it's worth trying, although not the most efficient cooling method because you won't have very big temperature difference cause of the volume of water.

You won't need a bigger pump because the main constraint will be the flow resistance through the water block. You will need to think about pressures though because of the height of the radiator. Connections might be tricky too, the radiator will probably have 15 mm fittings, you could use reducers to get that down to 8mm copper pipe and then use flexible tubing to connect to that - somehow!

Interesting project though.
    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

Been helped or just 'Like' a post? Use the Thanks button!
    My broadband speed - 750 Meganibbles/minute

3. Received thanks from:

CustardInc (18-01-2015)

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by peterb View Post