System specs to start with.

Q6600 @3ghz
    Abit IP35 pro
    4x1gb OCZ DDR2
    Samsung 500g HD
    Corsair HX620w psu
    Vista HP 64bit SP1

Hello there,

I have just recently upgraded from a 1950pro to a HD4870 and straight away i started to get a really annoying humming noise which appears to be coming from the psu. I had been using the system for 11 months with no discernible noise coming from the psu so i at first assumed it was the new gfx card, i changed the heatsink and fan with no change to the sound and i have now replaced the 1950pro back in the system. At first with the old card there was no noise but after running prime95 with 3dmark06 for 30 mins the noise is once again apparent.

The noise sounds a little like a ZX spectrum loading a game and appears to my ears to be coming from inside the psu, not the most accurate recording device i know. At other times it is a more regular hum that is on for 1 sec stops for 1/2 sec then on again for 1 sec etc etc etc. The decibel level of the sound is very very low but due to its high pitch it actually hurts my ears and working at the computer for long periods makes it unbearable.

What i am asking is , how likely is it that the psu is making this annoying sound ? can it be fixed or should i rma the psu?
    Unfortunately i do not have another pc that i can use the psu in to check if it also makes the noise in there as well.

I ordered the psu on Aug 27th 2007 so if an rma is the correct choice should i contact my etailer about this matter?

Any help or suggestions are much appreciated.

Thanks

Re: HX620w Humming Noise

We are getting some reports of the newer GPUs from both Nvidia and ATI making some high pitched noises. Have you opened your case to see if any of the sound is coming from your GPU or possibly the MOBO?

Thanks
    • TAKTAK's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG STRIX B450-F GAMING
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 7 3700X
      • Memory:
      • 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200MHz