Thread: Hdd problem with corsair 540 evo

Registered+
    Thanks

Hdd problem with corsair 540 evo

I have this case and for some reason the hdd isnt being recognised.

I firstly put in an ssd the old fashioned way, i.e my cables and that works fine in fact o/s is on it and its running fine.

Now with the hdd its a different thing altogether.

Firstly I would probably mention the fact that I have never used this case before.

I think I did it correctly though a you tube video would have been great.

I attached the hdd chassis cable to the mobo and connected my hdd power cable to the chassis one.

Then I clicked the hdd into place.

I didnt do the other one.

My mobo (sabertooth 990fx) doesnt recognise it. The hdd isnt showing up in bios.

Is there a setting in bios I am missing or have I installed it wrong?

Also is the rear fan supposed to be an exhaust one? It doesnt look like its set up that way. Sticker and wires are visible which usually means its blowing in the direction of where the wires are.

Lastly, with exhaust fans do you plug them into fan headers? All of my previous cases have fan controls on them so just always molexed them onto psu.

This doesnt so thought I would get mobo to do it.

Is that the right thing to do with respect to exhaust ones?

Corsair Rep
    Thanks

Re: Hdd problem with corsair 540 evo

When you say not recognized, in BIOS or OS? If its a brand new HDD, then you may have to initialize it first.

Have you tried connecting the HDD the old fashion way as well? with out connecting to the pass through? It's possible that the pass through port is flaky, try to connect both data SATA and power directly to the Mobo and PSU.

The rear fan by default should be exhaust. I go normally with the position of the blades, if they look like this, then they are exhaust;

Registered+
    Thanks

Yeah its a brand new hdd.
    Unfortunately I cant set it up the usual way.
    One of the clips snapped in the bay so cant get the thing out.