• Cooler Master Elite 120
      • Operating System:
      • Linux Arch/Mint/Windows 7 Ult. 64bit/OS X
      • Monitor(s):
      • 23" iiyama IPS
      • Internet:
      • Meh

Looking for desk layout improvement ideas

Well I got a bit of money for Christmas (and my Birthday) and I'm looking to improve the layout of my desk for productivity reasons. I'm currently in student accommodation so I can't physically move the desk or the shelves (everything is screwed and glued). I'm an astrophysics student and do some game dev on the side. My time is spent probably 50/50 paper/computer. When I'm working on paper, my laptop moves off the desk and I shuffle the keyboard up, this gives me lots of room, however I'm not finding the computer arrangement great especially after having been used to a proper dual screen setup in the past.
    Here's my desk:

I'm looking at spending the money I got on a second screen and vesa mounting system for the two. Possibly something like this:

or this: if I went vertical.

The thing is, I don't know what to go for. I was thinking of getting something with more pixels than the normal 1080p as it's useful to be able to have a 1080p window + stuff. I've also thought of getting say a qhd (or an ultrawide) and turning my current monitor portrait for coding. I just really don't know. What do you guys think about improving this layout?

Cheers!

Treasure Hunter extraordinaire herulach's Avatar
    Thanks
    • herulach's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z97 MPower
      • CPU:
      • i7 4790K
      • Memory:
      • 8GB Vengeance LP
      • Storage:
      • 1TB WD Blue + 250GB 840 EVo
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 2* Palit GTX 970 Jetstream
      • PSU:
      • EVGA Supernova G2 850W
      • Case:
      • CM HAF Stacker 935, 2*360 Rad WC Loop w/EK blocks.
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1
      • Monitor(s):
      • Crossover 290HD & LG L1980Q
      • Internet:
      • 120mb Virgin Media