• HEXUS
  • HEXUS.tv
  • channel
  • gaming
  • lifestyle
  • trust
  • community
  • ESReality
  • HEXUS.community discussion forums

    Welcome to the HEXUS.community discussion forums forums.

    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!


    Go Back   HEXUS.community discussion forums > HEXUS.channels > HEXUS.gaming > Gaming News

    Gaming News All the latest news from the world of gaming

    Reply
     
    LinkBack Thread Tools
    Old 09-01-2006, 12:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
    HEXUS.gaming
     
    Steven W's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Nov 2005
    Posts: 6,126
    Thanks: 175
    Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
    Xbox 360 mod chip ready to roll

    It's ready!

    Do you believe them though? A number of sites seem suspicious.

    Check out the Headline for more info.


    Last edited by Steven W; 09-01-2006 at 03:08 PM..
    Steven W is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 09-01-2006, 01:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
    Barely posting since 2006
     
    bertie's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: Kingston
    Posts: 1,697
    Thanks: 5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Fake, hell they even took the pictures down because people found them on some chinese electronics site and they were for something completely different.

    Some of the "retailers" websites are comically bad - it'd be funny if it was actually for real.
    I think a lot of people are going to get scammed

    bertie is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 09-01-2006, 02:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
    HEXUS.gaming
     
    Steven W's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Nov 2005
    Posts: 6,126
    Thanks: 175
    Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
    Originally Posted by bertie
    Fake, hell they even took the pictures down because people found them on some chinese electronics site and they were for something completely different.

    Some of the "retailers" websites are comically bad - it'd be funny if it was actually for real.
    I think a lot of people are going to get scammed
    how can they get away with it. These guys are well known modders. If they are trying to scam people, which is suggested by some other sites as well, surely they should be caught now because this will spread like wildfire.

    They are blatantly advertising it and telling you that it can be bought from the retailers on the site.

    I want to see it before I'm 100%.

    Steven W is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 09-01-2006, 03:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
    HEXUS.gaming
     
    Steven W's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Nov 2005
    Posts: 6,126
    Thanks: 175
    Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
    Edit on main article:

    'Eurogamer claim that they are not mod chips 'but standard commercially available microcontroller boards with the "I.C.E. v1.0" text written over them.' Interestingly they tell us that both the I.C.E website and mod chip suppliers, InfinityMods.com are owned by the same people. Nice way to drum up hits, but not good for business if they are fake.'

    Steven W is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 09-01-2006, 03:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
    Barely posting since 2006
     
    bertie's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: Kingston
    Posts: 1,697
    Thanks: 5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yeah, the bit about ICE and infinity mods is true - soon as I see Divineo stocking it i'll believe it.
    It appears to be quite an elaborate, but poorly executed hoax - I'm not sure if they're scamming people or doing it for fun though.


    Let's just say they've certainly got the attention of quite a large number of people, and are stringing them along quite well

    ... must... stop... reading about it.....

    bertie is offline   Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Breadcrumb
    Go Back   HEXUS.community discussion forums > HEXUS.channels > HEXUS.gaming > Gaming News


    Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
     
    Thread Tools

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are On
    Pingbacks are On
    Refbacks are On
    Forum Jump

    Similar Threads
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    First 360 Mod chip? unreal HEXUS.gaming 8 09-01-2006 05:33 PM
    CoolIt Xbox 360 liquid cooler - Latest pics from CES Steve Gaming News 9 09-01-2006 08:27 AM
    Watercooling the XBox 360, [H] style Steve HEXUS.net 1 04-01-2006 01:03 PM



    All times are GMT. The time now is 08:07 AM.

    Any representations/statements made on the HEXUS.community discussion forums are the representations/statements of the author i.e. the person/organisation making them. If any such representations/statements are disputed they are a matter between the parties concerned. HEXUS Limited accepts no responsibility for any misrepresentations, inaccurate or false statements made by any person/organisation other than HEXUS Limited employees.
    Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
    Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
    © Copyright 2008 HEXUS® Limited. All rights reserved. Unauthorised reproduction strictly prohibited.