Thread: Msc Gaming Chair Project

Yer_Dah

Msc Gaming Chair Project

Hi

I am studying a Msc Product Engineering Design course and I am currently doing a thesis on gaming chairs. My project goal is to develop a gaming chair prototype that improves the immersion of the games and makes the user feel like they are in the game itself by using sound, physical feedback and other psychophysics techniques.

I am currently investigating the current trends of gaming chairs such as the technology they incorporate such as sound, lights, materials etc. I am also trying to find out what are the most common issues that are currently faced with gaming chairs and how are companies trying to resolve these problems in addition how successful have they been in overcoming these problems.

I was wondering if you may be able to help me by providing information about the development of gaming chairs and possibly give me advice on what to consider in my audio chair prototype such as audio, physical feedback and other criteria it should fulfil. Also what are your requirements for a game to be immerse yourself in the game?

Your assistance would be greatly appreciated
    Kind Regards

Yer_Dah

Thanks
    • Pob255's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus M5A99X EVO
      • CPU:
      • FX8350 & CM Hyper 212+
      • Memory:
      • 4 x 2gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz cas9
      • Storage:
      • 512gb samsung SSD +1tb Samsung HDD
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EGVA GTX970
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic GX 650W
      • Case:
      • HAF 912+
      • Operating System:
      • W7 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • iiyama XB3270QS-B1 32" IPS 1440p

Re: Msc Gaming Chair Project

I doubt you'll find many people actually have custom "gaming" chairs, they tend to be both large, expensive and focused on one type of game.
    Flight sims and car racing games are the main ones.

Putting a subwoofer below the seat to transmit vibrations into the chair is a common feature.