Thread: New job role - need some advice

Thanks

New job role - need some advice

Hi,

I have been an IT consultant now for about 6 years and have been really successful. I have only really worked in large organisations and so when a job opportunity came up in a small company who wanted to grow the business I thought this would be a great way to gain some additional experience in other areas of business.

I have been there now for 2 months and have been getting to grips with the way the company works etc. Due to the size of the business I have been asked to help with getting in new business but as the company has no marketing and is not a well known name in the IT industry I think this will be a lengthy task.

So what I would like is advice on how any of you have grown your business, talked cold calling etc, how you perceive cold calling if you’re in a professional role, what would grab your attention rather than the usual phone calls, e-mails and mailing.

The company is an IT services provider to small and medium sized organisations. The unique service they offer is a hosted IT service that allows smaller companies and companies with multiple locations to have corporate level IT systems but with no upfront investment, low monthly cost and reduced overall IT speniture. So they do have a really good story to tell but it is establishing the best way to tell it.

Your help is appreciated.

Wilksj01

Thanks
    • staffsMike's system
      • Motherboard:
      • evga 680i
      • CPU:
      • e6600
      • Memory:
      • geil ultra pc6400
      • Storage:
      • WD 320gb
      • Graphics card(s):
      • leadtek 8800 GTS 640mb
      • PSU:
      • ocz gameXstream 700w
      • Case:
      • akasa eclipse
      • Monitor(s):
      • dell 2007wfp and Lg L194WT
      • Internet:
      • pipex homecall
    I work in a small business as Network and Tech Support etc.. and I don't often give cold callers the time of day.