• Windows 10 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 27" U2715H & Gigabyte M27Q
      • Internet:
      • 1Gbe

Exclamation Urgent problem with HMRC

Hi folks,

This pretty much came out of nowhere. So bare with me:

I'm recently back from my honeymoon and had 2 letters from HMRC waiting for me. It turns out that they are both late penalty fee notices.

• Late filing penalties for the year ended 5th April 2013 - Total £1200
    • Late filing penalties for the year ended 5th April 2014 - Total £1200

Now I hope you can imagine my shock/horror. I have never been self employed. I am a teacher and have been since 2012. I have never been self employed or received any income outside of my teachers pay. My pay is through the payee system. Completely outside my control like most workers.

So, as i was entirely disbelieving of the whole thing I rang up HMRC. I was put through only to be told that they have been trying to contact me for 3 years and have sent out numerous letters. To be honest the woman was extremely unhelpful. Now, I have moved house twice in the last 3 years. Not really our fault, we rent and landlords wanted back into the properties. HMRC wouldn't tell me the address these letters were sent too, so I don't know where the letters went. As far as I know there is no way for me to give HMRC my contact details - I mean, why would I need to?

However, I have NEVER received anything from HMRC (until these penalty notices). If I did, I would have acted on it. They said that I had underpaid my tax by £57 in the year 2012-2013. How? I don't know as a payee I don't control my tax or payments. It is all automatic. They had tried to contact me to arrange repayment and because I never replied (how could I? I didn't know!) I was issued with penalties.

They stated I had to appeal the penalties. I offered to pay the money they said I underpaid (which I would have done instantly had I known) but they said no. I must appeal the £2400 penalty on a £57 underpayment.