• HEXUS
  • HEXUS.tv
  • channel
  • gaming
  • lifestyle
  • trust
  • community
  • ESReality
  • HEXUS.community discussion forums

    Welcome to the HEXUS.community discussion forums forums.

    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

    Go Back   HEXUS.community discussion forums > HEXUS.channels > General discussion

    General discussion Chatter, desires, jokes & rants; some threads are banter some are serious - please show respect for others Add RSS Feed

    Reply
     
    LinkBack Thread Tools
    Old 25-10-2003, 09:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
    Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: 52:35:52N - 2:08:57W
    Posts: 107
    Thanks: 0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Scam email?

    Just picked this up on my blueyonder email account:

    Dear Barclays Bank Member,

    This email was sent by the Barclays server to verify your e-mail
    address. You must complete this process by clicking on the link
    below and entering in the small window your Barclays Membership
    number, passcode and memorable word.
    This is done for your protection --- because some of
    our members no longer have access to their email addresses and
    we must verify it.

    To verify your e-mail address and access your bank account,
    click on the link below. If nothing happens when you click on the
    link (or if you use AOL), copy and paste the link into
    the address bar of your web browser.


    http://barclays.co.uk:ac=L0CnD9h3ndIbOjRiREQ0@ShOrTwAy.To/w30ffk/?4CmXWwdyAxpmy2L


    --------------------------------------------
    Thank you for using Barclays!
    --------------------------------------------

    This automatic email sent to: darkchrome@blueyonder.co.uk
    Do not reply to this email.


    Wierd because i have never had any dealings with barclays and the email headder seems to me coming from a AOL account. Anyone else recieve this?
    SarG is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 25-10-2003, 09:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
    Kirstie Allsopp
     
    Theo's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: Sunny Bolton
    Posts: 2,745
    Thanks: 13
    Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
    Theo's system
    A similar one was posted on bit-tech the other day. Seems to be quite common, recently./
    Theo is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 25-10-2003, 09:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: Magrathea
    Posts: 201
    Thanks: 0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sounds like : http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/3105658.stm

    Don't click the link in the email it may validate your address for more spam/scam emails.
    elneckio is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 25-10-2003, 10:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
    Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: 52:35:52N - 2:08:57W
    Posts: 107
    Thanks: 0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Not worried about the email address being spammed... its how i train the spam filter
    SarG is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 25-10-2003, 12:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
    Danger To Himself
     
    silent ben's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: Sandhurst, berks
    Posts: 1,458
    Thanks: 0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    If it was a real address, it would have https at the beginning, not http.

    Ben

    silent ben is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 25-10-2003, 12:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
    '~'+'~'
     
    Enverex's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Oct 2003
    Location: Worcester
    Posts: 851
    Thanks: 0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Enverex's system
    The site is actually ShOrTwAy.To, everything before and including the @ are ignored, so it just allows them to make slightly more realistic fake addresses. Which sucks.

    NS
    Enverex is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 25-10-2003, 02:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
    Drop it like it's hot
     
    Howard's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: Surrey, South East
    Posts: 11,741
    Thanks: 14
    Thanked 43 Times in 39 Posts
    Howard's system
    There's a warning about it on the NatWest Online Banking site too.

    Home cinema: Toshiba 42XV555DB Full HD LCD | Onkyo TX-SR705 | NAD C352 | Monitor Audio Bronze B2 | Monitor Audio Bronze C | Monitor Audio Bronze BFX | Yamaha NSC120 | BK Monolith sub | Toshiba HD-EP35 HD-DVD | Samsung BD-P1400 BluRay Player | Pioneer DV-575 | Squeezebox3 | Virgin Media V+ Box
    PC: Asus P5B | Core2duo 2.13GHz | 2GB DDR2 PC6400 | Inno3d iChill 7900GS | Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1 | 250GB | 500GB | NEC DVDRW | Dual AG Neovo 19"
    HTPC: | Core2Duo E6420 2.13GHz | 2GB DDR2 | 250GBx2 | Radeon X1300 | Terratec Aureon 7.1 | Windows MCE 2005
    Laptop: 1.5GHz Centrino | 512MB | 60GB | 15" Wide TFT | Wifi | DVDRW

    Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 25-10-2003, 07:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
    Going Retro !!!
     
    Ferral's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: North East UK
    Posts: 4,030
    Thanks: 11
    Thanked 130 Times in 96 Posts
    Ferral's system
    Yeah I got one not that long back from Citibank in the USA saying exactly the same thing

    Ferral is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 26-10-2003, 07:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
    Senior Member
     
    Scooby's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Aug 2003
    Posts: 1,022
    Thanks: 5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    There have been a few scam ones about I got an ebay one the other week.
    Scooby is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 26-10-2003, 08:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
    HEXUS.net Webmaster
     
    Iain's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: UK
    Posts: 3,112
    Thanks: 1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    it's not primarily being used to get email addresses. It's targeted at people who will enter their user account details for the bank thus allowing whoever owns shortway to then access your real bank account. What you should do is enter your username and password as something almost valid and then let barclays know and allow them to watch for the IP address of whoever attempts to login using those details. Then have the little bastards nailed and thrown in the deepest darkest pit this side of the moon......with Jayde Goody from Big Brother as a cellmate

    Iain is offline   Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Breadcrumb
    Go Back   HEXUS.community discussion forums > HEXUS.channels > General discussion


    Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
     
    Thread Tools

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are On
    Pingbacks are On
    Refbacks are On




    All times are GMT. The time now is 06:06 AM.

    Any representations/statements made on the HEXUS.community discussion forums are the representations/statements of the author i.e. the person/organisation making them. If any such representations/statements are disputed they are a matter between the parties concerned.
    HEXUS Limited accepts no responsibility for any misrepresentations, inaccurate or false statements made by any person/organisation other than HEXUS Limited employees.
    For more information please read HEXUS Limited's terms, conditions and privacy policy.

    Hosted Exchange

    Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
    Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
    © Copyright 2009 HEXUS® Limited. All rights reserved. Unauthorised reproduction strictly prohibited.