Thread: Unexpected shut down on first build! :'( How do I go about diagnosing this? EasyTune?

Thanks

Unhappy Unexpected shut down on first build! :'( How do I go about diagnosing this? EasyTune?

Ok... was just typing this and opened EasyTune (gigabyte software, came with motherboard) to check CPU temp and it crashed again...

Before that I was playing TrackMania Sunrise for a bit because I wanted to see what the CPU temps were when not idle and when I minimised TM to check the temps in EasyTune it crashed - blue screen briefly, something about a hardware error and then restarts itself. Exact same thing.

Seems my questions changed a bit but still remains. Is there any way I can get some information from the system on what happened to help me figure it out? This is my first build and it's been working fine all day since I put it together last night (until these two events just happened anyway). If it is EasyTune's fault somehow then I can just find another temperature monitor, but if it's a hardware thing I'm worried.

Which leads me to my reason for checking temps - EasyTune said CPU was ~23C while BIOS said ~40-45C (which worries me... it's an i5-4670k, idling and not overclocked, room temp is about 20C I think.) Do I need to change my thermal paste maybe? I just used the pre-applied stuff on the stock cooler.

Also which is more likely to be right on the temp? I don't understand why there's such a big difference...

I'd appreciate anything you can give me on this, so please do give me suggestions if you've got any.
    Cheers,
    Frankenfurter

edit: Looks like I missed the latest patch for it so installing that now... I doubt that's it though is it? Also noticed that on boot my BIOS says F7 but there's an F8. Should I upgrade the BIOS? It says on Gigabyte's site that flashing the BIOS is risky for some reason...
    Last edited by Frankenfurter; 20-03-2014 at 03:35 AM.

Thanks