View Poll Results: What's this Poll thing, I'm new to this?

Voters
0. You may not vote on this poll
  • Useful?

0 0%
  • Useless?

0 0%

Thread: Virgin Broadband and Wireless Router Query?

Thanks

Angry Virgin Broadband and Wireless Router Query?

Hi. I recently purchased a 'Buffalo Airstation WHR-G54S' to use as wireless on Virgin Broadband 2 MB. I believe I have set this up ok and the Internet seems to be working. I didn't have to fiddle with any settings, which in my (lack of) experience I have, in the past always had to mess with various settings. I query, however, that when I run the 'ipconfig' through Run, cmd, I get a 192.168 address range. Although when I connect to the internet and google 'What's my IP?', I get a totally different IP Address for some reason, why am I getting this conflict of one IP address on the net being different to the IP Address I get when running ipconfig. Is it because my cabled hardware has it's own IP Address and the wireless router then dishes out the 192.168 address?

In addition, when I try to host a server now on All Seeing Eye for Call of Duty gaming, my friends are unable to connect? Please help ....... thanks!

Ne0
    Registered+
    Thanks

Re: Virgin Broadband and Wireless Router Query?

The reason why ipconfig throws up a 192.168.x.x IP is because your router dynamically assigns you a LAN IP address when you connect to your network. This IP address is different to the IP address the whole world sees.

The reason why your friends can no longer connect to games you host is because you need to tell the router that those connections from your friends need to be forwarded to your PC. There should be a port forwarding option in your routers setup page. You need to forward a range of ports to your PC's 192.168.x.x IP address (Google around for COD + port forwarding to find the specific ports). After this your friends should be able to connect to your server.

TiG
    Walk a mile in other peoples shoes...
    Thanks