Thread: Weird wireless issues in small office

Thanks

Weird wireless issues in small office

I've come across a slightly strange issue that has me completely flummoxed. I've been installing and fixing networks for many years and never seen anything like it. I was wondering if anyone else had seen anything similiar or could think of any suggestions.

The office is a small one and is in a small room with three desks. In the hallway there is a small data cabinet with networking patch panels and a switch. A while back they suddenly lost wireless connectivity, I tried a few things but narrowed it down to a faulty router. However the replacement router also didn't allow anyone to connect to it via wifi. I tried lots of things, but the only way I could get it to work was to move it into the office itself. Now it's not a signal strength issue, there was no extra distance or signal loss in the two sites. The only real change was a different power socket.

It has been running like that for 6months now with no downtime at all, however they had a power cut the other night and this brought everything down. The next morning the Router had crashed and there was no wireless available. Swapping to a spare router this worked for about an hour before that stopped allowing wireless devices. Restarting several times eventually brought it back to working wireless for half a day before again going down.

So today I tried replacing the router for a completly different brand, Netgear DGN2200 before Apple Airport Express with a Netgear DG834 wired router. With this in place I was still having issues getting all the laptops and devices connecting. About 50% would and 50% wouldn't even see the network. Those that did connect lost the network regularly despite having perfect signal.

I tried reseting and restarting with no success. The only thing that seemed to work was moving the Apple Airport extreme to a room down the hall well away from the office.