• HEXUS
  • HEXUS.tv
  • channel
  • gaming
  • lifestyle
  • trust
  • community
  • ESReality
  • HEXUS.community discussion forumsVisit Corsair.com

    Welcome to the HEXUS.community discussion forums forums.

    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

    Go Back   HEXUS.community discussion forums > HEXUS.help - buying advice & technical queries > Operating systems & applications

    Operating systems & applications Looking for that application for Windows? needing advice with your Linux setup? - ask here! Add RSS Feed

    Reply
     
    LinkBack Thread Tools
    Old 24-12-2004, 02:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
    Illegal Alien
     
    wedge22's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: Vancouver
    Posts: 1,938
    Thanks: 1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    wedge22's system
    Dodgy ebay email?

    Is this a dodgy email from someone.


    ***Online assistance department notice***

    eBay Account revalidation request

    You have recieved this email because you or someone impersonating you used this account in an unauthorized transaction on eBay . For security purposes, we are required to open an investigation into this matter.

    THE FRAUD ALERT ID CODE CONTAINED IN THIS MESSAGE WILL BE ATTACHED IN OUR ACCOUNT REVALIDATION REQUEST FORM, IN ORDER TO VERIFY YOUR EBAY ACCOUNT REGISTRATION INFORMATION.

    Fraud Alert ID CODE: 0189932
    (Please save this Fraud Alert ID Code for your reference.)

    To help speed up this process, please access the following form to complete the revalidation of your eBay account :

    http://scgi.ebay.com/verify_id=ebay &fraud alert id code=0189932

    .
    Please Note:
    If we do not receive the appropriate eBay account verification within 48 hours, then we will assume this eBay account is fraudulent and it will be suspended.
    The purpose of this verification is to ensure that your eBay account has not been fraudulently used and to combat fraud.

    We appreciate your support and understanding, as we work together to keep eBay a safe place to trade.

    Thank you for your patience in this matter.

    Regards, Online assistance department (Trust and Safety Department)
    eBay Inc.

    Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.



    Copyright © 2004 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. eBay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc. eBay is located at 2145 Hamilton Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125.
    --- [This E-mail has been scanned for viruses but it is your responsibility to maintain up to date anti virus software on the device that you are currently using to read this email. ]

    Main Rig: E2180@3Ghz/8800GT /4Gb OCZ/750Gbb Hdd/Antec 900
    PSN ID: wedge
    wedge22 is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 24-12-2004, 02:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
    Raging Bull
     
    DeludedGuy's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Dec 2003
    Location: London
    Posts: 2,148
    Thanks: 61
    Thanked 32 Times in 24 Posts
    DeludedGuy's system
    Yup, thats a scam, i recieved one not too long ago, so i chedk my account, and it turns out no one had been on my account and made any bids.
    DeludedGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 24-12-2004, 11:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
    Agent of the System
     
    ikonia's Avatar
     
    Join Date: May 2004
    Location: South West UK (Bath)
    Posts: 3,665
    Thanks: 35
    Thanked 62 Times in 45 Posts
    a good way to check is hover over the link and see if the hover over link points to ebay or an ip address or different domain, theres no way to fake that

    It is Inevitable.....

    ikonia is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 24-12-2004, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
    Senior Trouble Maker
     
    muddyfox470's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Jul 2004
    Location: moving to Suffolk
    Posts: 2,907
    Thanks: 82
    Thanked 33 Times in 26 Posts
    muddyfox470's system
    View muddyfox470's Twitter Profile
    scam all the way

    i lol when i received 3 within a few weeks, onto my email address where the ebay account was closed! quite funny!

    one thing, is that, any site that asks you to enter in your details to 'check' or revalidate is (prob) most definitely a fraud!

    at least u spotted it!

    Mac fancier > white macbook base spec .................. CS: muddyfirebang
    muddyfox470 is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 24-12-2004, 11:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
    john
     
    johnnr892's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Feb 2004
    Location: Stowmarket
    Posts: 787
    Thanks: 0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yeah, mky dad recieved that 3 days ago, it's just a fraud

    Cheiftech Matrix/xp 2600@ 2.3ghz/ Abit NF7 v2/1gb GEIL value dual channel pc3200@ 2.5-3-3-6/XFX 6600gt/80gb Western Digital boot disk/80gb maxtor for storage and games/LG cdrw/Nec 3500A
    johnnr892 is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 24-12-2004, 12:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
    Illegal Alien
     
    wedge22's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: Vancouver
    Posts: 1,938
    Thanks: 1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    wedge22's system
    Great I thought it was. Bloody gits trying to scam me.

    Main Rig: E2180@3Ghz/8800GT /4Gb OCZ/750Gbb Hdd/Antec 900
    PSN ID: wedge
    wedge22 is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 24-12-2004, 12:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
    Team HEXUS.net
     
    joshwa's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: Liverpool, UK
    Posts: 4,546
    Thanks: 65
    Thanked 50 Times in 48 Posts
    joshwa's system
    View joshwa's Twitter Profile
    forward it to abuse@ebay.co.uk - they normally give you a reply explaining everything and can look into it.

    joshwa is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 24-12-2004, 12:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
    Cable Guy
     
    Jonny M's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: Loughborough Uni
    Posts: 4,274
    Thanks: 0
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
    If it says "Dear eBay Member" then it's a scam. Official mailings will use your real name, and ask you to visit the homepage to login and read more about the issue.
    Jonny M is offline   Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Breadcrumb
    Go Back   HEXUS.community discussion forums > HEXUS.help - buying advice & technical queries > Operating systems & applications


    Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
     
    Thread Tools

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are On
    Pingbacks are On
    Refbacks are On


    Similar Threads
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    eBay email scam Stringent General discussion 2 05-12-2004 07:41 PM
    Is this a dodgy Nigerian on Ebay? faisal_uk General discussion 40 02-12-2004 05:12 PM
    Laptop on Ebay - dodgy or what? Ceefer Small form factor & portables 7 19-09-2004 07:06 PM
    Just received another eBay scam email... Lujan General discussion 3 01-03-2004 11:03 PM
    Scam email? SarG General discussion 9 26-10-2003 08:29 AM



    All times are GMT. The time now is 02:21 AM.

    Any representations/statements made on the HEXUS.community discussion forums are the representations/statements of the author i.e. the person/organisation making them. If any such representations/statements are disputed they are a matter between the parties concerned.
    HEXUS Limited accepts no responsibility for any misrepresentations, inaccurate or false statements made by any person/organisation other than HEXUS Limited employees.
    For more information please read HEXUS Limited's terms, conditions and privacy policy.

    Hosted Exchange

    Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
    Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
    © Copyright 2009 HEXUS® Limited. All rights reserved. Unauthorised reproduction strictly prohibited.