Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My new gaming PC

osh
    Thanks

Red face My new gaming PC

Hey all!

It's hell about time I upgraded my PC (I think it's been 5 years or so?). I'll try to keep it brief, but ask anything that could help you understand my goal.

Who am I?
    • I'm a software engineer by profession and a gamer by heart (I lack time to play as much as I wish to).

What do I want?
    • A gaming PC overall. I want my games and apps to load and work really fast, but the system needs to be stable (no extreme OC).

What do I need?
    • speed (CPU, GPU and storage)
    • memory (32GB with ability to expand to 64 in a couple of years)
    • stability
    • compatibility (dual boot to Windows for gaming and Linux for work)

What details are good?
    • Some connections in the front/top, e.g. USB 3.1 (or USB-C)
      Apart from the connector type, are USB ports not backward compatible? Why they still do mobos with USB 2?
    • 2 way SLI to be available - for the optional future upgrade
      does anyone do any more than 2 nowadays?
    • VR
      I don't know what's the expense, so possibly not not, but it would be nice if my system was easy to upgrade with it

What details are not so important?
    • noise
      Obviously silent is a bonus, but i don't care much about it, as I make more noise myself)
    • design
      I can appreciate crazy LED builds, but I don't think there's a particular need for it - is it expensive at all?)
    • form factor
      I always had a fairly big tower PCs and I just like them)

Budget?
    • I don't really have one
      Don't want to spend all the money that I save for a house, but £1k? £2k? You convince me to spend more ;]

What I have been looking at?
    • Mobo
      Not much clue here - I just know that Socket 1151 with Intel Z170 seems to be a standard now, but 7th generation of Intel CPUs is round the corner. Will it make it obsolete?
    • CPU