Thread: Scan are failing to recongize the issue i am having

Registered+
    Thanks

Thumbs down Scan are failing to recongize the issue i am having

Before I begin I would say that I am not a computer expert by any means. Considering this I bought a GTX 970 a few months ago and was quite happy with its performance compared to my old GTX 670.

My issue started when I started playing VRAM intensive games like GTA5 and Shadow of mordor and recently Batman Arkham Knight (with most recent patch). My games would start to stutter at some point while gaming which would lead to game stopping to a complete crawl with 5-10 fps. This was quite a shock to me since my current system met all the recommended requirement by those games. This is when I installed EVGA Precision X / MSi afterburner and realised that the stutter would happen when VRAM usage in-game go over 3.6/3.7gb mark. Point to note here is that game would run buttery smooth @60fps before the stutter start to happen so 'to lower my graphic setting' argument is not valid.

Like any other I started googling about the issue I was facing and found about the GTX 970 fiasco that happened beginning of this year, I was sadly late to party Hoping that Scan would already be aware of the issue and not beat the bust around when it comes to either a refund or suitable replacement I called them and was hugely disappointed by the response I got.

According to Scan this is a 'feature' of this particular card and there is nothing else they can do but replace the card with similar card. Nvidia have themselves acknowledge that the later part of VRAM (500mb) is on much slower bandwidth but Scan as a retailer are refusing to accept that fact and are adament that a replacement will fix the issue I am facing which I find to be totally ridiculous coming from a reputable hardware retailer like them.