Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Scan claiming broken pins on RMA of motherboard - total nonsense

Registered+
    Thanks

Scan claiming broken pins on RMA of motherboard - total nonsense

As the title says

Scan is claiming that broken or bent pins on the motherboard is the cause of my systems failure. I know this to be untrue as I am an experienced PC builder and the PC failed 2 years in to use... The pins would not magically bend without me taking the machine apart.

Reading the internet this seems to be quite a common problem where people have failed motherboards and Scan claim bent pins so they don't have to refund or replace the item.

What is the official way to challenge the ruling? - since I know it is nonsense.

If anything is bent now then it has happened on Scans side. The motherboard has failed but for physical damage to have been the cause then it would have had to have been tampered with, it has been happily working for 2 years.

Unfortunately I think I am screwed because obviously I did not think I needed to take a high res picture of the CPU socket. Absolutely terrible service.

Thanks

Banhammer in peace PeterB kalniel's Avatar
    Thanks
    • kalniel's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
      • CPU:
      • Intel i9 9900k
      • Memory:
      • 32GB DDR4 3200 CL16
      • Storage:
      • 1TB Samsung 970Evo+ NVMe
      • Graphics card(s):
      • nVidia GTX 1060 6GB
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic 600W
      • Case:
      • Cooler Master HAF 912
      • Operating System:
      • Win 10 Pro x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell S2721DGF
      • Internet:
      • rubbish

Re: Scan claiming broken pins on RMA of motherboard - total nonsense

You can't do much I'm afraid. Scan may offer to broker a repair service to the motherboard manufacturer - many manufacturers will also do this if contacted independently, at cost. It'll be less than a new motherboard, but annoying I agree.