![]() |
|
Welcome to the HEXUS.community discussion forums forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! |
| |||||||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Member Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 69
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
| http://www.uksurplus.net/ Just thought I'd let people know on here this site seems VERY dodgy: http://www.uksurplus.net/ Couldn't find anything on Google about them, although I did find them using the Google Product Search beta, so I was debating whether or not it'd be worth attempting to buy something from them. What I could find out: Address: UK Surplus 23 Purley Court Brighton Road Purley Surrey CR8 2BL Names Associated: Melanie Hughes (registered the domain name) Gary Fleck Number: 07515704172 Reckon it's worth reporting them to the trading standards at: http://www.ripofftipoff.net/? |
| | |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Member Join Date: Feb 2009 Location: Cardiff
Posts: 133
Thanks: 27
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
| Re: http://www.uksurplus.net/ Originally Posted by bluesatin Cheap deals are somethimes not legit, I always uses Scan for most of all my hardware because I trust them. I would rather do Business with a large organisation than a small time business.
JONESSIE
|
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 224
Thanks: 2
Thanked 34 Times in 24 Posts
| Re: http://www.uksurplus.net/ Originally Posted by bluesatin According to Google Street View, the post code address looks like a block of residential flats, and the mobile number given as a contact doesn't exactly inspire confidence either.
I think I'd treat them with caution, but on the other hand, they *may* be perfectly legitimate. It seems a bit unreasonable to report someone to Trading Standards if you've no evidence of them actually ripping anyone off, or in fact of any wrongdoing at all... |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Member Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 69
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
| Re: http://www.uksurplus.net/ Well I just looked at the site a little further and it says this when you're ordering: Originally Posted by uksurplus.net
Should a site ever need your date of birth for processing an order? |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: London
Posts: 7,105
Thanks: 257
Thanked 462 Times in 332 Posts
| Re: http://www.uksurplus.net/ Originally Posted by CaptainCrash Identity fraud side business?
They seem to have a valid SSL certificate... but are those cheap to buy? I would report them... if they are legit then they won't get closed down anyway, won't they? |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Southampton/Chippenham
Posts: 5,065
Thanks: 167
Thanked 410 Times in 375 Posts
| Re: http://www.uksurplus.net/ They arren't a limited company (although there is a Company, UK Surplus Ltd based in Liverpool, who might be interested in this lot using the same name) - professionally produced website, but that means nothing... One of their links is to a Surplus/bankrupt stock wholesaler so make of that what you will... Don't think I'd use them though. Is YOUR system up to Folding? Useful Information about HEXUS There are 10 types of people who understand binary - those that do... and those that don't. |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Southampton/Chippenham
Posts: 5,065
Thanks: 167
Thanked 410 Times in 375 Posts
| Re: http://www.uksurplus.net/ That may have been to comply with the regulations designed to prevent money laundering. Is YOUR system up to Folding? Useful Information about HEXUS There are 10 types of people who understand binary - those that do... and those that don't. |
| | |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| You Stupid Bi..atch! FIN Join Date: Aug 2007 Location: Brum
Posts: 1,077
Thanks: 110
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
| Re: http://www.uksurplus.net/ peterb, a congratulations in order? I see a significant date of 12/08/09! PhD? If so, then Congratulations! |
| | |
| Received thanks from: | jackvdbuk (15-08-2009) |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| Reject the system Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: Stratford
Posts: 2,011
Thanks: 142
Thanked 48 Times in 48 Posts
| Re: http://www.uksurplus.net/ Originally Posted by UseItNow yep, congrats peter, pink handbag day is not easily acomplished! dedication and a good mind is whats needed for that!
|
| | |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Southampton/Chippenham
Posts: 5,065
Thanks: 167
Thanked 410 Times in 375 Posts
| Re: http://www.uksurplus.net/ What do we want? PHD - When do we want it? TOMORROW (12th August 09) PHD Cat Walk... strut your stuff here guys PHD - easy - PhD - I wish! (MSc first - maybe!)But thank you for the thought! Is YOUR system up to Folding? Useful Information about HEXUS There are 10 types of people who understand binary - those that do... and those that don't. Last edited by peterb; 16-08-2009 at 07:06 AM.. |
| | |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| You Stupid Bi..atch! FIN Join Date: Aug 2007 Location: Brum
Posts: 1,077
Thanks: 110
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
| Re: http://www.uksurplus.net/ Originally Posted by peterb Hah, LOL, I completely missed that thread!
![]() Thank you Jack for the thanks, glad I could be of service! |
| | |
| | #14 (permalink) |
| Registered User Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
| Re: http://www.uksurplus.net/ I recently came across this site too. Couldn't find much info aside from the address and phone number already mentioned, but checked the terms and conditions of the fraud protection on my credit card (which says that DOB can be necessary when dealing with online retailers) and went ahead with an order, saving any relevant details. I've been contacted by the guy who appears to run the site, and he informs me that my order should arrive by Wednesday. He also claims that the extra info is required to aid secure transactions. My order is still showing up as awaiting payment, so I contacted him again today but no response so far. I'll post again once the items arrive/if I run into any problems. Sarto |
| | |
| | #16 (permalink) |
| Young 'un | Re: http://www.uksurplus.net/ Bottom of site says they are using http://www.finestshops.com/ Interesting, means they could just be a front for an actual store? |
| | |
![]() |
| Breadcrumb | ||||||
| ||||||
| Tags |
| legit, query, safe, scam, website |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |