Thread: Triple redundancy setup for storing photos

Thanks

Triple redundancy setup for storing photos

Hey,

Basically I'm a photographer, and I take a ton of photos (can hit 1tb in a few weeks easily). As my images are my livelihood, I'm trying to make sure everything is backed up and stored securely.

At the minute I've just got a bunch of disks running on Raid 1, but I know this isn't the most secure method.

So essentially I'm looking to drop some cash and make a bomb-proof setup (not literally).

My current idea is to buy a 2 bay external drive, that will connect to my PC through e-sata. I'll run this in Raid 1. Then also purchase a 1 bay e-sata drive.

I'll use the drives in my computer for initial sorting and processing, then back the files up on to the 2 bay drive. The once a week I'll backup the 2 drive bay onto a single drive, using some sort of mirroring software. That drive will then be stored off-site in a fireproof safe.

I'm sure this setup would probably have some weak spots though. Or perhaps there's a more efficient way to do it? I was also thinking of buying a UPS incase there is some sort of problem with the electrics (not that it has ever happened before). Or would a special fused plug be good enough to protect me from power surges frying my equipment?

Thanks!
    -agour

Splash

Re: Triple redundancy setup for storing photos