Thread: Western Digital WD40E31X 4000 GB Internal

Thanks

Western Digital WD40E31X 4000 GB Internal

I've just got a new desktop computer and at first thought of buying a new Samsung SSD drive together with a WD 4TB internal hard drive,

I've now see one of these Western Digital WD40E31X 4000 GB internal hard drives and wondered (as I'm not too technical on this 'stuff') how it would compare to the SSD and HD combination?

Do you think it would be nearly as fast as using an SSD for the OS?

Would it work as the HD to go with an SSD?

What do you think is my best combination of drives?

Thanks

Thanks
    • jag272's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z87-G43
      • CPU:
      • i5 4670k
      • Memory:
      • 1x8GB XMS3 1600Mhz CL11
      • Storage:
      • 1x 1TB WD Blue
      • Graphics card(s):
      • MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming
      • PSU:
      • XFX TS 550W Core
      • Case:
      • Corsair Carbide 300R
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung SyncMaster 943NW

Re: Western Digital WD40E31X 4000 GB Internal

Thats a pretty cracking deal if I do say so myself, having just looked at it on Scan.

2 things to keep in mind, SSHDs usually arent as fast as fully fledged SSDs as they're not built specifically for that purpose, though its not too big a difference judging by the few benchmarks I've seen.

The other thing to keep in mind, and Scan doesn't explicitly list this, and its a 3.5" drive so you wouldn't necessarily expect it, but based off of this sentence:
    "An optimal amount of built-in NAND flash SSD technology enables WD Blue SSHDs to perform at up to four to five times faster than traditional 5400 rpm HDDs,"
    This is infact a 5400 RPM HDD, unlike the 7200 RPM standard for desktop drives. That means anything that doesn't get shifted to the NAND is going to run slower than it would on a standard hard drive.

Those 2 points aside, thats a cracking deal for the price.

Thanks

Jag,