Thread: Aw9D - Max Dead BIOS

Registered+
    Thanks

Aw9D - Max Dead BIOS

I've heard a lot of people say about this board having serious problems when updating to version 1.2, stupidly tho i thought that abit wouldn't put a problematic file on their site. So I flashed it and guess what I now how a £1400 paperweight, the worst thing is trying to get a new BIOS from abit. I've had this same problem with MSI, and Asus but i've never used abit boards before, now without doubt the abit boards are far better quality, but MSI when I rang simply asked for all the info off the board stickers, then the next day there was a new BIOS chip with no cost, and pretty much the same as Asus, but when I rang abit I was told id have to fill in a form that he would send by e-mail (2 days later no e-mail), this board is also one of those with the 8mbit bios chip so no chance of loading another machine, and a quick swap then flash. I'm guessing this is going to take a few weeks so i'm limited to working on my laptop with no chance of doing any work for the next 2 weeks. Tempted to just buy the MSI board as who can go without their PC for 2 weeks, i think if abit are going to take so long then they need to think about dual BIOS systems. If anyone has any ideas on how I can get this up and running again would be greatly apreciated, I love this board had tempsensors on every part and nothing runs hot, and my Highly overclocked Core 2 Extreme is amazing on this board this is my one and only complaint (well other than the fact you cant add a PCI card if you have Crossfire enabled, because it just wont fit)......Cost me £108 for 5 days use...

Thanks
    you're the 1st person that I've seen mention problems flashing to 1.2 on an AW9D.
    I take it that you have tried clearing CMOS?

Anyway:

"Before you consider buying a BIOS, please make sure it is the BIOS that causes the problems rather than something else.