Thread: Need Help Getting Powermac G4 Working Please

Thanks

Need Help Getting Powermac G4 Working Please

I bought a used Powermac G4 base unit yesterday, never had a Mac before and it just needed a HDD and ram but I've been building PC's for quite a few years now so thought it wouldn't be a problem

So I stuck in an extra HDD I've got (40G Maxtor, currently FAT32 formatted) and took a 128MB PC100 Crucial stick from my bro's PC (wasn't sure about compatibility here but thought it'd be worth a shot). Then also plugged in my Microsoft USB keyboard (I know, I'm really pushing it now ).

Powered on the system, mobo LED comes on, fan spins up, as does HDD - doesn't appear to be pushing a signal to the monitor though (which stays in standby), no beeps or anything. It has an ATI rage AGP card btw, and I don't see any obvious reasons why this wouldn't be functional.
    Out of interest I then tried booting without the ram stick in, which produced one beep - so at least I know the system is operating and perhaps that it doesn't have a problem with my ram. Then tried resetting the CMOS, but no help there.

If anyone could give any tips I'd be grateful - even if it's a short and sweet "you can't use that HDD/keyboard/ram you ass"

Thanks
    What type of powermac is it? If its a 133 FSB, RAM could be the problem.

Try resetting the PRAM, ah you'd have to figure out the windows equivalents of cmd-opt-P-R....try holding windows-alt-p-r on power up. You're looking for a chime, hard disk spin down, then spin up again while holding those keys all the time, then another chime. If you keep them held down you'll get the repetition of the PRAM being reset.

You say its agp. Only the first G4s with AGP used PC100, I believe. I'd need more info.
    Well Hello!

Thanks
    Hi Dave,

Thanks for the help