Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: So I finally needed two new tyres....what's that I hear...oh bugger.

MD
    Thanks
    • MD's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-M PRO
      • CPU:
      • i5 - i3570k
      • Memory:
      • 32GB Corsair Vengeance
      • Storage:
      • 2 x 256GB SSD's (Samsung and Crucial)
      • Graphics card(s):
      • NVidia 640
      • PSU:
      • Corsair 600W
      • Case:
      • Silverstone TJ08e MATX
      • Operating System:
      • Win 8
      • Monitor(s):
      • 24" Dell Flat Panel
      • Internet:
      • 60mb Virgin Media

So I finally needed two new tyres....what's that I hear...oh bugger.

Well I have been running the Z4 now for a good 18 months and touch wood, aside from £100 on an oil change/air con/handbrake cable session its been a good runner if I just block the cost of petrol out of my mind...

Alas though at the MOT two weeks ago I was advised that the rears were going bald on the inside and needed to be replaced as soon as possible. Cost at a stealer - £149.99 each fitted.

Hmm I though, I'm sure my local can do it cheaper - indeed I was right, £125 each and, more surprisingly than anything they had them in stock (BMW Z4's use a specific runflat tyre with a little star on the side).

Someone else I knowsaid he would see if he can get me a deal, cool I said and provided the tyre details. I was in luck, two rears fitted for £210.

So off I trot down to the tyre place, I had heard runflats were a bit of a bitch to fit to be honest and had to be done in a certain way, so I stood there watching the guy as he was going blue trying to pry the deflated tyre off my precious BMW 17" rims.

10 Mins of tools and compression on the tyre and off it came, great I thought, it won't be long now...