Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: To motorbike or not to motorbike?

Spider pig, spider pig
    Thanks

To motorbike or not to motorbike?

Hi everyone,

A relatively quick question. I have been thinking recently about changing my car RX8 to something more economical for the commute to work as it really drinks the fuel, but I'm not sure I could bear to lose it for something that just wouldn't be as fun.

It got me thinking, I could keep the RX8 and maybe consider using a motorbike for a lot of the commute -saving money and also having some fun in the process. The idea of being able to skip past lots of stationary traffic is quite nice too.

Thing is, I've never really ridden a bike, only once or twice and never on the roads. I'm a reasonably experienced driver (around 10,000 miles a year for 10 years, no accidents) but I'm just not sure about how safe a bike is, or how practical one is to own.

The thought that sparked it all was seeing this on HUKD:

http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/duca...erbike/1003275

Any bikers with opinions on plusses and minusses of bike ownership? Not that I'm sure I'd ever get it past the wife but have to start somewhere...

Thanks
    • Zak33's system
      • Storage:
      • Kingston HyperX SSD, Hitachi 1Tb
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Nvidia 1050
      • PSU:
      • Coolermaster 800w
      • Case:
      • Silverstone Fortress FT01
      • Operating System:
      • Win10
      • Internet:
      • Zen FTC uber speedy

Re: To motorbike or not to motorbike?

seriously... only YOU know the answer to that question.

I've avoided them all my life.. life being the reason and an inner belief that I'd bite off more than I can chew, and the game would be over. Even at 18 I knew this in my heart.

But it is no secret that bikes are uber....

Quote Originally Posted by Advice Trinity by Knoxville
    "The second you aren't paying attention to the tool you're using, it will take your fingers from you. It does not know sympathy." |