Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bargain tyres - I've been testing now (for many years)

Thanks
    • Zak33's system
      • Storage:
      • Kingston HyperX SSD, Hitachi 1Tb
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Nvidia 1050
      • PSU:
      • Coolermaster 800w
      • Case:
      • Silverstone Fortress FT01
      • Operating System:
      • Win10
      • Internet:
      • Zen FTC uber speedy

Bargain tyres - I've been testing now (for many years)

Lo good people and drivers of the world

I'm running a 15 year old 2004 Skoda Octavia 130bhp and before that the 20 year old shaggy 1998 Polo 1.4
    Plus my family has a 2011 Subaru Forester and before that a 2007 Civic 2.2 DTI
    Before those I was driving an 05 Saab 150 TiD, and for a while we owned a 1990 Civic 1.6 VTEC Del Sol on Winter tyres!

And what I have been doing is running the CHEAPEST CHOICE ALL SEASON TYRES that I can possibly find.

Now I'm not here to tell you to buy cheap tyres - in fact I'd suggest you don't tbh. As you will see the risks are .. variable! But I'm happy enough on these cheapies, doing 22k miles per year in al weathers, 50% motorway, 50% country lanes.

I buy nearly all of them online and have a friend fit and balance them, and over the years I have come across some real surprises, good and bad
    Now a Subaru Forester is a very very different car for tyre wear to a front wheel drive scrabble wagon and it shows in tyre wear. That Subaru is big and heavy, with a lot of grip and tyres last really well.

I change all tyres in pairs on the same axle and keep the Sub front and rear axle dimilar tread depth, though not always same brand.
    I tend to put new ones on the front, wear them to 4mm and then put new on the front and the 4m to the rear. Nothing goes below 2.5mm in summer or 3mm in winter

Here's the list and the surpises: