Thread: NZXT Phantom mod suggestions

Registered+
    Thanks

NZXT Phantom mod suggestions

Hi, I'm looking at buying the NZXT Phantom case (in white) and I like everything about it, but the one thing that it lacks is a window in the side panel

This is a real shame, as since it is a full size case most people are likely to put the best and most expensive components inside it, with no way to show them off. This gave me the idea to mod the side panel to create room to insert a window.

From looking at the case I think the best way to do this would be cut out the grill for the 200mm fan but as I have never done anything like this to a case before I don't know where to go from there. What ideas do you guys have? What is the standard method for putting a window in the side of a case?

Cheers.

Thanks
    • Pob255's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus M5A99X EVO
      • CPU:
      • FX8350 & CM Hyper 212+
      • Memory:
      • 4 x 2gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz cas9
      • Storage:
      • 512gb samsung SSD +1tb Samsung HDD
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EGVA GTX970
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic GX 650W
      • Case:
      • HAF 912+
      • Operating System:
      • W7 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • iiyama XB3270QS-B1 32" IPS 1440p

Re: NZXT Phantom mod suggestions

There's no real standard methord, other than cut a hole in it and fix a bit of purspex (acrylic) over the hole.

Those black sections on the side panel are actually mesh and you will be able to see in with some lighting inside the case.

Let me see if I can find some photos of the other side of the panel as I think it could be very easy to replace the mesh with a bit of acrylic.

Registered+
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Pob255 View Post
    Let me see if I can find some photos of the other side of the panel as I think it could be very easy to replace the mesh with a bit of acrylic.
    I found this image of the inside of the side panel on NZXT's website:

Thanks
    • Pob255's system