Thread: Holes!

Thanks

Holes!

I'm relatively new to PC building, having built my first one only 8 years ago in 1997. I know what's what, what goes where and what I need, but for the love of God, do not let me near any tools apart from my trusty philips screwdriver.

I can't hammer nails in straight, screw screws in wood without catastrophe or drill a hole where I would have liked it to go.

Now I have a big old system case with this tiny aquagate in it and I have been lusting after a proper water cooling system, and as I see it, I have two choices.

I can either buy a Koolance Exos 2 external system, or I can for half the price, buy a Swiftech or Asetek system, like the big boys use.

The problem with this is, I would love to mount a 2 x 120mm radiator on the inside ceiling of my case and need to know the following:-

1) Will it work if my radiator is the highest component and mounted higher than a reservoir or will all the coolant run out of my radiator into the reservoir and overflow all over my system.
    2) If it is possible to have the radiator on the top, what sort of business in the Yellow pages can I take the top panel to to have two 120mm blow holes cut into with countersunk screw holes?

I believe I cannot buy spare top panels and if I try it myself..... well.... you don't want to know.

Of course if anyone knows of a computer shop that allows you to bring in a case and have it modded and a decent water cooling kit installed professionally, I would be most grateful.

Thank you in advance.

Richard P
    Core i7 920, Asus P6T, 3x2 1333 DDR3, Vista x64, Ageing 8800GT (Next upgrade!), Adaptec 1430SA with 4x500 gig HD (2x RAID 0 and 2x RAID 1), Blu Ray rewriter, 1TB HD for data, housed in Cooler Master ATCS 840 awaiting water cooling with Corsair HX1000 PSU, Microsoft Habu and Reclusa, 22" and 17" TFT.

Thanks
    • dave87's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus
      • CPU:
      • i5 3470k under Corsair H80 WC
      • Memory:
      • 8gb DDR3