• ABIT IP35-E iP35 Socket 775 8 channel audio ATX Motherboard
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E4700 2.6GHz
      • Memory:
      • Corsair 4GB Kit (2x2GB) DDR2 800MHz CL5
      • Storage:
      • Western Digital 320GB SATAII 16MB Cache 7200 RPM - OEM
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Inno3D 9600GT Armor Edition 512MB DDR3 Dual DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphics Card
      • PSU:
      • 550W eXtreme Power Plus PSU
      • Case:
      • Coolermaster Centurion 5 All Black Case
      • Operating System:
      • Vista 64 and Xp
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung 19" HD screen

DSLR for begginer

hey guys, i've been thinking about dabbling in a bit of photography for a while now, and with xmas coming up i thought it'd be an ideal time to get a DSLR. from reading reviews on here etc i am a little confused on what to go for. i'm mainly looking to be taking photos of the great outdoors and wildlife as i'm currently studying zoology....

any suggestions for something around the price of £500 max that would suit my needs?

cheers guys

Thanks

Re: DSLR for begginer

Mrshalc11
    My advice would be to first go out and handle some cameras in your price range and decide which ones feel good in your hands. Then do some comparisons online. The entry level cameras all have their pro's and cons all will do the job.
    A lot of people on this part of the forum seem to be either Nikon or Canon users and by the looks of another thread there are a few Sony users too but Nikon and Canon being the big two.
    Its worth mentioning that it has been said that you can buy a second hand mid range Canon for £200-£300 which will out perform the entry level cameras and will be of higher build quality, however you may have to sacrifice a nice big LCD display and a few megapixels.
    Ideally for wildlife photography you'd want a fast lens like at 70-200 f/2.8 or longer. But lenses like this start from £500 and go upto £1300 so thats the budget out the window.