Thread: stock fan installation for 3770k

Registered+
    Thanks

stock fan installation for 3770k

bit of a newbie here for pc building.. not built one for over 10 years!
    am thinking of going for a 3770k for a new pc build and starting off using the stock fan and later upgrading. non-stock fans ive seen require a thermal paste to be applied, is it the same for a stock fan? i'm thinking of the hassle it might be when i later upgrade.. also im thinking a water cooler would be a better option due to the fact they are much smaller? one advantage being that the RAM modules wont be in the way.

Registered+
    Thanks
    • Caveman's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5Q SE PLUS
      • CPU:
      • Intel Q6600 @ 3.2GHz
      • Memory:
      • 6GB 800mhz Corsair Dominator CL4
      • Storage:
      • 1TB Samsing F3, 500GB WD Blue, 250GB Seagate, 120GB Force 3, 2x80GB Maxtor IDE :(
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EVGA GTX560Ti SOC 1GB
      • PSU:
      • iCute 500w Modular
      • Case:
      • Zalman Z7 Plus
      • Operating System:
      • Win7 x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • 24" Samsung B2430, 40" Samsung LE40C580
      • Internet:
      • 8Mbit Sky Connect (**** Wales)

Re: stock fan installation for 3770k

If you're planning on OCing at all then the stock fan will not be ideal. IB Chips run hot, real hot. If you dont plan on OCing then it'll be fine. Thermal paste should come pre-applied on most coolers anyways. Even if its not, its not a hard thing to do. Put a pea sized drop onto the center of the CPU and mount the cooler.

As for Ram modules, get the LP version of said Ram.

Thanks
    • Willzzz's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte
      • CPU:
      • PSU:
      • FD Newton R3 600W
      • Case:
      • Corsair 350D

IB doesn't run that hot compared to other chips, not unless you are going for a pretty hefty overclock.
    However if you are going to overclock it is still worth investing in an after market cooler.

Registered+
    Thanks