Thread: Time to upgrade maybe?

Thanks

Time to upgrade maybe?

Hey guys!

So I've been using my Intel Core i5 sandybridge since 2011 (RMA'd last year) and was wondering what your views were regarding an upgrade?

I mainly game on my rig so it would be purely for those purposes as I don't do any video editing etc.

I've come to the conclusion that a Haswell upgrade now would be kind of pointless with Skylake just round the bend, But would you say I could stick it out with this chip until say Cannonlake or the Skylake refresh?

Cheers and thanks in advanced, Brad.

Thanks
    • chrestomanci's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus AMD AM4 Ryzen PRIME B350M
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 1600 @ stock clocks
      • Memory:
      • 16Gb DDR4 2666MHz
      • Storage:
      • 250Gb Samsung 960 Evo M.2 + 3Tb Western Digital Red
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Basic AMD GPU (OSS linux drivers)
      • PSU:
      • Novatech 500W
      • Case:
      • Silverstone Sugo SG02
      • Operating System:
      • Linux - Latest Xubuntu
      • Monitor(s):
      • BenQ 24" LCD (Thanks: DDY)
      • Internet:
      • Zen FTTC

Re: Time to upgrade maybe?

I am in a similar situation, except my system is even older. Also my focus is on software development, so I want a system with lots of RAM, fast I/O, and only basic graphics.

My take is that as Skylake is just around the corner and will use a new type of RAM and a new socket, so it would be foolish to spend £500 now on new stuff that will be out of date, and expensive to upgrade in a month or so.

If it where only January, and the new CPU is still over 6 months away then it might be different, Likewise if I had enough cash for a socket 2011 based system, as that already uses DDR-4, and is unlikely to see a significant refresh any time soon.