• Fractal Meshify 2 Grey
      • Operating System:
      • RedStar 3, Ubuntu, Win 10
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung CRG90 5140x1440 120hz
      • Internet:
      • PlusNet's best, but still poor, attempt

Home office upgrade

I'm looking to improve my home office setup, which currently stands at 2x 23" 1080p monitors.

I'm starting to find the resolution quite low on these screens, particularly for work (I'm a web/software developer).

I'd ideally like to increase both the size and resolution of both - I've demoed a couple of 4K monitors and found the text far too small on them, and not particularly easy to adjust in Windows 7. I don't think my eyes could cope with 2 of these side by side. And I don't want to be nudging 30" to make the screen large enough to appreciate the resolution.

So, a nice compromise seems to be a pair of 1440p screens, 25-27". Aside from coding I do like to do a moderate amount of gaming so would also be looking at upgrading my current GPU - something that'll happily drive 2 1440p displays but also not break a sweat running games at this resolution at high settings. I'm guessing a 970-980 or some sort of SLI setup would be good.

G-sync/FreeSync and super high refresh rates are not terribly important, decent colour reproduction and low response times are more important.

I'd also like something that has a good amount of height adjustment in the stand, and the ability to rotate 90 degrees to portrait would be a bonus.

Price I know is going to be a bit steeper than 1080p monitors, but I'm looking at this being a professional investment so only the totally ridiculous prices will be a problem.

So, I'm looking for some recommendations that fit my slightly fussy requirements. I keep asking myself if I should just jump in to a 4K screen, or two and update to Windows 8/10 which better support High DPI screens? I've also seen those ultrawide 1080p screens, which look nice but a probably a bit of a pain for gaming at "normal" aspect ratios.