Thread: Curved Ultrawide or 16:9 1440p display?

Thanks

Curved Ultrawide or 16:9 1440p display?

I currently have the LG 27GL850 on pre-order which is the monitor that LG markets as a 27" 1440p 144Hz IPS display with a 1ms gtg response time. As of today Amazon are selling the ASUS XG35VQ and BenQ EX3501R for £480 and £495 respectively. The LG monitor that I pre-ordered costs £450.

I have only ever used a cheap TN panel and so I have no experience when it comes to choosing what features are worth it. My question is, is it worth sacrificing the the 144Hz refresh rate, shorter response time (which is apparently true according to a chinese review on youtube) and 98% DCI-P3 coverage for the curved ultrawide form factor and better contrast ratios that come with the ASUS and BenQ monitors. I am an engineering student at the moment so in terms of my work I do cad and a lot of typing, whether that be in matlab, excel or word; I will also be getting into 3D animations in the near future. Outside of university work I game a decent amount and watch a lot of movies and tv shows, at the moment I am currently playing single player games like the witcher 3, hitman 2 and gta v, I shall also be getting cyberpunk 2077 in the future and I shall be getting back into playing csgo.

Probably worth mentioning that I am currently using a 1080 Ti as my GPU. So if you guys were in my position, which monitor would you choose and why?

Banhammer in peace PeterB kalniel's Avatar
    Thanks
    • kalniel's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
      • CPU:
      • Intel i9 9900k
      • Memory:
      • 32GB DDR4 3200 CL16
      • Storage:
      • 1TB Samsung 970Evo+ NVMe
      • Graphics card(s):
      • nVidia GTX 1060 6GB
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic 600W
      • Case:
      • Cooler Master HAF 912
      • Operating System:
      • Win 10 Pro x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell S2721DGF
      • Internet:
      • rubbish

Re: Curved Ultrawide or 16:9 1440p display?