Thread: Contracts and legal question.

Thanks

Contracts and legal question.

Someone has sent me a contract to sign, as we are forming a company. there are 3 of us that have a main stake, 2 are American and me from the UK. we have only just started and are already arguing.

we had agreed on a specific percentage split between us to be signed up. but the person pushing the contract has added various mathematical equations into the contract, to manipulate the split of potential profits (if any).

I am not singing it obviously, but are there any laws out there to stop people pushing a contract, without outlining that is actually very different from what was agreed. He is sending me angry emails, asking me to hurry up.

thanks for reading.

The late but legendary peterb - Onward and Upward peterb's Avatar
    Thanks

Re: Contracts and legal question.

I am not a lawyer.

But, if you don't like the contract - don't sign it. Or at least don't sign it until you have run it past a lawyer who has experience of company law in the jurisdiction where the company is based. I guess this is the partnership agreement?

Have you already formed the company? Is is a limited liability company (i.e. incorporated or registered with Companies House in the UK) and if so, are you a shareholder? What is your shareholding?
    In many cases a limited liability company makes things easier - you become an employee of the company as a director, and can aree a salary. You can declare dividends out of profit that are apportioned according to your shareholding (Three of you, one share each, you get equal dividends - your shareholding might depend on the amount you each invest to start the company of course)

But bottom line - don't be hurried if there is something you don't understand, or worse, don't trust. Much easier (and potentially less expensive) to walk away before you sign, than try to extract yourself afterwards.
    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")