Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What's the best way to run my central heating?

Thanks

What's the best way to run my central heating?

Back in my old house, I had a thermostat, mechanical timer and standard rads. In this place, I have a combi boiler, master thermostat and thermo rad valves on all the rads in the house. Am I better off having the heating ON all the time and letting the rad valves and the master thermostat sort it out, or setting a 2 period timer for each day?

Quote Originally Posted by The Quentos
    "My udder is growing. Quick pass me the parsely sauce." Said Oliver.

Thanks
    • Ferral's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z97-P
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7 4790K Haswell
      • Memory:
      • 12Gb Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600 Mhz
      • Storage:
      • 120Gb Kingston SSD & 2 Tb Toshiba
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Sapphire Radeon R9 380 Nitro 4Gb
      • PSU:
      • Antec Truepower 750 Watt Modular
      • Case:
      • Fractal Design Focus G Mid Tower
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64 bit
      • Monitor(s):
      • 28" iiyama Prolite 4K
      • Internet:
      • 80Mb BT Fiber

Re: What's the best way to run my central heating?

We had a new boiler installed earlier this year and a technician came out and went over it with us.

First off set your radiator temperature to around 2 thirds instead of full, this makes it more energy efficient.

If your boiler has a pre heat turn it off as that just wastes gas keeping water at a certain temperature even when it is not in use.

We usually have the thermostat set to 20.5 Celsius for day and night, just a nice living temperature.

We have the valves on all radiators fully open presently as it is getting colder, if it gets a bit warm we knock the thermostat down a few degrees to knock the heating off and we control the room temp by adjusting the radiator valves.