Thread: Understanding UPS's and Extension Cords

Thanks

Understanding UPS's and Extension Cords

Hi guys!

Thought I'd throw this one out here to see what input you might have on a subject that seems to draw a wide variety of responses.

One arm of the company I work for is a retail shop selling home electronics and related kit including home UPS devices - the typical types you see for PC setups with APC brand and others.

Every now and again the sales staff/shop will reach out to those of us on the service/solutions team for some input and recently there have been a few queries concerning using UPS units with power extensions cords/splitters.

I'm not an electrician in any way, shape or form. I have nothing but a rudimentary understanding of things, but I'm aware that there are risks when it comes to plugging UPS units into extension cords, especially with surge protectors built in, and also when plugging them into the output side of a UPS.

One consideration is that surge protectors will mask the supply in some way causing the UPS to function incorrectly and possibly go to battery when it doesn't need to, or on the outlet side will keep the UPS from correctly judging the load placed upon it.

More seriously, I believe there are also risks when it comes to resistance and heat build up due to all that extra cabling (not to mention possible low quality cabling).

UPS companies all warn against the use of extension cords and their usage will void warranties. Lots of online sites vary between saying, "High risk, don't do it!", and "If you use high gauge cables you should be okay," or "use power strips but not with surge protectors built in" etc.

I'd like to be able to lay this to rest once for all, if possible, so I was hoping some of you might be able to clarify the risks and reality of using UPS units with extension cords/surge protectors.

Anyone have any insight?

Cheers!