Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Music streaming services ...

Thanks

Music streaming services ...

As regulars will know, I'm new to this and currently experimenting.

Currently, I have Amazon unlimited on free trial for 3 months. It might just be coincidence based on what I've played, but the recording quality seems markedly better (through a 3rd Gen Echo) than the basic Music service with Prime. Currently, I have a Planxty selection playing (not available on the basic service).

And it made me wonder ... how much difference is there between Amazon Unlimited, Spotify, etc?

Given that the one-device Amazon Unlimited subscription (which is enough for me) is £3.99/month, are there any options that are better, both for quality and value for money? I'm sure some of you have tried multiple services over the years.
    A lesson learned from PeterB about dignity in adversity, so Peter, In Memorium, "Onwards and Upwards".

Thanks

Re: Music streaming services ...

I use Spotify Premium as it means I don't have any ads, lots of special offers around. Have found the quality very good even at 320kbps

I have used Tidal in the past with their highest quality offering and it was ok, 1411kbps! And their Master quality is higher still but limited songs compared to others and price point made it unattractive

However Amazon is 320kbps same as Spotify but Amazon HD is supposed to be up 850kbps, is that the one you have? And also Amazon UHD is supposed to be a lot higher again
    Jon

Missed by us all - RIP old boy spacein_vader's Avatar
    Thanks
    • spacein_vader's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 5 3600
      • Memory:
      • 2x8GB Patriot Steel DDR4 3600mhz
      • Storage:
      • 1tb Sabrent Rocket NVMe (boot), 500GB Crucial MX100, 1TB Crucial MX200
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Gigabyte Radeon RX5700 Gaming OC
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 520W modular
      • Case:
      • Fractal Design Meshify C