Thread: Patents

Thanks

Patents

Whether it be software, physical, intellectual etc, if you've got a question you'd like answered on patents, pose it here and I'll get back to you with an answer via my father. From a lawyers prospective, don't take this as advice etc just as an opinion etc. If you feel some gratitous right or wrong has been posed, don't go trolling etc, I don't want this to turn into a great debate thread on the rightness or wrongness of patents - just 'how to go about it' 'what can I do' etc...

I work in the industry and I know the arguments to and against patents. Keep these arguments out of the thread please.

Also, a piece of friendly advice, don't disclose any ideas you wish to be patented on this thread - or talk to anyone via PM etc as this negates the patent. If you are serious about a particular idea, are actually looking for a patent etc after asking questions then I'm happy to pass you along to someone who can look at the idea confidentially. If you're a hexus regular with a serious enquiry and not much cash, you might get a bit of free advice. No promises though :- )

And finally if you see the adverts on TV with 'ARE YOU AN INVENTOR?!!111' then treat them the same way as you would spam - they will charge you hundreds to thousands (bleed ya dry!) before telling you your invention sucks. A real patent agent will tell you it sucks before he takes your case (sometimes without even taking a fee...)
    Tim N

TiG
    Walk a mile in other peoples shoes...
    Thanks
    Tim_N, how about you pay David a bit of cash for the advertising you are getting your dad for free then

No offence but i'm sure if anyone is serious enough to be getting to patenting something the last thing they might do is go and ask a question via PM to someone they don't even know. I'd say its worse than the TV adverts

TiG
    -- Hexus Meets Rock! --

Thanks
    • dangel's system
      • Motherboard:
      • See My Sig
      • CPU:
      • See My Sig
      • Memory: