Thread: Which Graphics Card

zep
    Thanks

Which Graphics Card

Hi Guys,

I'm thinking of setting up a new computer rig for myself and have come to a bit of a stumbling block when it comes to the graphics card.
    I'm a bit of a novice so i'll apologise now if anything i say is obvious or irrellivant.

Just to summerise my plans...
    I'm a 3D animator and trying to set up a decent system for my work. My dad is a serious gamer and has just built himself a computer (on a budget) earlier this year which i intend to basically copy with a few upgrades here and there to avoid any compatibility issues etc.
    His computer is as follows...
    Motherboard - Asus Striker Extreme S775 nForce 680i ATX Audio Lan
    Processor - Intel Q6600 Core2 Quad
    Memory - 4gb Kingston Hyper X
    Graphics cards: 2x XFX 7900GTX 512mb DDR3 in SLI configuration
    He managed to put this together with second-hand parts for around £600 incl. all the extra bits and pieces.

I'm planning to copy the setup but upgrade the memory to 8gb and the 2 graphics cards to 8800 series.

The thing i'm stuck on is whether to go for 2 8800 GT or GTX.
    I've been reading lots of forum posts and reviews and it seems to me that the overall opinion is that the 8800GT is nearly as good as the GTX but a lot less money. The thing is, all the reviews seem to only consider the 512mb GT and not the 1024mb version. As my understanding is a bit basic you'll have to excuse me for asking how much of a difference does that extra 512mb make to the performace? Or is the fact that the GTX uses 324bit technology that puts it above the GT in the perfomance stakes?