Thread: x800 pro with ati silencer 4

Registered+
    Thanks

x800 pro with ati silencer 4

can someone give me advice on oc my x800 pro with the ati silencer 4
    as i am new to oc graphics cards

Banned
    Thanks
    Advice? Well, firstly, double check everything, make sure the silencer is on correctly, make sure the thermal comp is applied correctly. Once sure, go and download a copy of Power Strip and 3DMark2003.

Now, take your stock core and mem clocks, and raise them by 10mhz each, using the simple PowerStrip interface.

Run 3DMark2003, watch it, look for any tearing, any slight problems at all with the display. Then, if you are happy, raise again by another 10mhz, core and mem.

Lather, rinse, repeat.

At some stage, you will reach the limit on the core or mem, and 3DMark will either exit, or there will be tearing during the tests. Watch the Ragtroll in paticular, this is a good indicater that you've gone too far.

Now, thats your limit. Ease off, by at least 10mhz on the clocks, so the card is not running on the very edge of its limit 24 hours a day.

And Roberts your Fathers Brother. (Now loop 3DMark2003 overnight to make sure)

Thanks
    • Zak33's system
      • Storage:
      • Kingston HyperX SSD, Hitachi 1Tb
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Nvidia 1050
      • PSU:
      • Coolermaster 800w
      • Case:
      • Silverstone Fortress FT01
      • Operating System:
      • Win10
      • Internet:
      • Zen FTC uber speedy
    and make sure your case has fresh air zooming about inside...cos if the cooler IS working, it will disipate the heat from the card to the case air...and may POSSIBLY make the rest of your system less stable.

Quote Originally Posted by Advice Trinity by Knoxville
    "The second you aren't paying attention to the tool you're using, it will take your fingers from you. It does not know sympathy." |
    "If you don't gaffer it, it will gaffer you" | "Belt and braces"

Banned
    Thanks