Thread: Windows XP boot failure - reinstall possible?

Registered+
    Thanks

Windows XP boot failure - reinstall possible?

Good afternoon folks
    I'm writing to ask for some help.

I have a computer that has failed in a way I've never seen before.
    The machine goes through POST, then as soon as it tries to boot into XP (SP2), the screen goes blank and zero activity is seen thereafter.
    I initially thought this was a problem of memory. A couple of hours of memtest said otherwise. I then tried the hard drive - using Maxtor's own DOS software (POWERMAX). the read write tests said the drive is fine.

I'm currently trying to find a reasonable linux Livecd, since I have no experience with this OS I'm underlining Simple
    What can I say I like Eve online too much to learn more about Linux, sorry.
    There is a knowledgebase article that possibly identifies this as a Drive loss (knowledge base Q314503)
    The thing that makes me worried is that when I try to run the winxp install disc at all, the same thing happens, I have made sure it is booting from cd - it tells me it is starting winxp and then nothing further.
    loose specification shown below

Has anyone had this problem before and overcome it?

Could you recommend a decent livecd for me to use to make sure that the data is still there and that I can retrieve a drive image from this drive.

All opinions and input are appreciated - I haven't been this in ages.

A7N8X-X mobo
    amd2600
    1.5 GB RAM
    128MB Nvidia 5900XT
    Maxtor 4D060H3 HDD

Thanks
    have you got another video card you can try?

Nothing runs like a Deere cotswoldcs's Avatar
    Thanks
    • cotswoldcs's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • Pentium 4 3.0Ghz Northwood (@3.4Ghz on water)
      • Memory:
      • 1.5Gb Corsair TwinX PC3200/PC3700
      • Storage:
      • 150Gb Raptor
      • Graphics card(s):
      • XFX 6600GT 128Mb (w waterblock)
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic S12-380