Thread: Help a newbie please

Thanks

Help a newbie please

Hi, can someone help a complete newbie?

Firstly, I'm not a gamer, a modder, or a system builder, just an average pc user.

I recently bought a Shuttle XPC on Ebay. The seller is a large trader who sells loads of pc's and pc equipment, and he gives a warranty on his items. My XPC has a label on the base indicating that it is an ex-school PC.

It's a G2 model, I can't be more specific as I have no way of knowing if it was originally sold as a barebones or fully built system. It's the model with 2 blue indicator lights on the front facia.

The blue indicator light on the right appears to simply be a Power-On light, as it is permanently on when power-up and running, the one on the left is the problem one. I don't know it's function, but it too is blue, but it doesn't emit a blue light, but rather, a yellow light. Sorry if that sounds daft, it's just that most of the time it has the appearance of being an unlit blue light, but which flashes every half scond or so in yellow, when the pc is powered-on. When pages are loading, this light burns yellow almost constantly, and when it does this it emits a faint buzzing or rattling noise. The noise becomes worse when the pc has been running for an hour or so, and it's really getting on my nerves. The cooling fan runs pretty quietly, making this buzing light noise even more noticeable.

Any ideas on the problem? Or the solution?

Thanks
    Meant to add, I could return the pc under warranty, but the postage costs would have to be borne by me. I just felt it might be cheaper and easier to fix this myself if I had some advice.

***** Lurker
    Thanks
    • d3fiant's system
      • Motherboard:
      • GB X58A-UDR3 FB11
      • CPU:
      • Core i7 950
      • Memory:
      • Corsair 12GB DDR3 1600
      • Storage:
      • 2x 120GB OCZ Agility SSD + 500GB SP F3
      • Graphics card(s):
      • GB Windforce GTX670 2GB
      • PSU:
      • 850W Akasa
      • Case: