Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 16 of 21

Thread: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

  1. #1
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post

    Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    HeXus is the place I come to get somin fixed and by that i've been looking all over the internet for an awnser and I always end up never finding the awnser

    But the brains on the HeXus forum will provail?

    I bought a Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 from Scan 3 weeks ago, everything was looking good and sounding even better! Untill one day, I booted up and it gave me a S.M.A.R.T error bad.

    So RMA > Sent it back
    The i recieved another 1
    S.M.A.R.T error bad
    So RMA > Sent it back

    Now on my 3rd Samsung HD103UJ so you can tell how annoyed I am already

    But it would seem I am recieving horrible write speeds (speeds of 3.1 mb\s or 1.2 mb\s are my favourite!) which is not useful as I'm attempting to use this HDD for HD Capturing.

    So my Specs are:

    Asus P5K Premium (Updated the BIOS etc.)
    2GB OCZ 800mhz RAM
    Western Digital 160GB HDD (Aswell as faulting Samsung HD103UJ)

    .......

    Sorry about the rambling but I really could do with this 3rd HDD working!

  2. #2
    Splash
    Guest

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    Hmmm... what PSU are you using? I'd say three duff disks in a row is pushing it a bit, so the chances are that something is killing them. What's airflow like in your case? What temperatures are your disks reporting?

  3. #3
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by Splash View Post
    Hmmm... what PSU are you using? I'd say three duff disks in a row is pushing it a bit, so the chances are that something is killing them. What's airflow like in your case? What temperatures are your disks reporting?
    720W Corsair PSU
    Temperatures are fine throughout the system, nothing abnormal.

    I've heard that maybe its to do with a SATA issue? Although that would seem confusing because the other HDD is working fine

  4. #4
    Splash
    Guest

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    Care to elaborate on the "SATA issue"? The interface shouldn't be causing SMART errors on the disk...

    The F1s don't have a jumper to limit to SATA1 speeds if that's what you mean, so you couldn't even have that on incorrectly.

  5. #5
    Anthropomorphic Personification shaithis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Last Aerie
    Posts
    10,839
    Thanks
    645
    Thanked
    871 times in 735 posts
    • shaithis's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77 WS
      • CPU:
      • i7 3770k @ 4.5GHz
      • Memory:
      • 32GB HyperX 1866
      • Storage:
      • Lots!
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Sapphire Fury X
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX850
      • Case:
      • Corsair 600T (White)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2 x Dell 3007
      • Internet:
      • Zen 80Mb Fibre

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    Trying removing the other hard drive (at least temporarily).

    I've seen a lot of issues where newer and older SATA hard drives do not like co-existing with each other when connected to newer chipsets........
    Main PC: Asus Rampage IV Extreme / 3960X@4.5GHz / Antec H1200 Pro / 32GB DDR3-1866 Quad Channel / Sapphire Fury X / Areca 1680 / 850W EVGA SuperNOVA Gold 2 / Corsair 600T / 2x Dell 3007 / 4 x 250GB SSD + 2 x 80GB SSD / 4 x 1TB HDD (RAID 10) / Windows 10 Pro, Yosemite & Ubuntu
    HTPC: AsRock Z77 Pro 4 / 3770K@4.2GHz / 24GB / GTX 1080 / SST-LC20 / Antec TP-550 / Hisense 65k5510 4K TV / HTC Vive / 2 x 240GB SSD + 12TB HDD Space / Race Seat / Logitech G29 / Win 10 Pro
    HTPC2: Asus AM1I-A / 5150 / 4GB / Corsair Force 3 240GB / Silverstone SST-ML05B + ST30SF / Samsung UE60H6200 TV / Windows 10 Pro
    Spare/Loaner: Gigabyte EX58-UD5 / i950 / 12GB / HD7870 / Corsair 300R / Silverpower 700W modular
    NAS 1: HP N40L / 12GB ECC RAM / 2 x 3TB Arrays || NAS 2: Dell PowerEdge T110 II / 24GB ECC RAM / 2 x 3TB Hybrid arrays || Network:Buffalo WZR-1166DHP w/DD-WRT + HP ProCurve 1800-24G
    Laptop: Lenovo Flex 2 / 12GB RAM / 240GB Corsair Force 3 Printer: HP CP1515n || Phone: HTC One U11 || Other: Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 Pro 10.1 CM12.1 / Playstation 4 + G29 + 2TB Hybrid drive

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    530
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked
    5 times in 5 posts
    • Neo_VR's system
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI X48L2R
      • CPU:
      • QX9450@3.2gig
      • Memory:
      • 4gb Corsair
      • Storage:
      • 2x36gb raptors striped 640gb AAKS
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Gainward 8800gt
      • PSU:
      • Enermax Liberty 600
      • Case:
      • Antec P182
      • Operating System:
      • Vista Ultimate
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 22" wfp
      • Internet:
      • BT 8meg

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    Also try changing the SATA mode in the bios between IDE/AHCI - i have heard of incompatibilites between drives and chipsets (admittedly that was a seagate)

  7. #7
    The Irish Drunk! neonplanet40's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Stirling
    Posts
    4,953
    Thanks
    698
    Thanked
    216 times in 143 posts
    • neonplanet40's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 Wi-Fi
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 7 2700X
      • Memory:
      • Patriot 16 GB DDR4 3200 MHz
      • Storage:
      • 256 Crucial MX100 +Kingston 256GB SSD and 500GB Samsung F3
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Palit nVidia 1070Ti Rockgamer
      • PSU:
      • OCZ 650W
      • Case:
      • Akasa Eclipse-32
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 27" U2715H & Dell 23" U2311H
      • Internet:
      • 60MB

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    i have that mobo with no problems...... although to be fair. i had three die on my one after the other only they were the 500gb version so yes it can happen.
    Home Entertainment =BenQ W1070, Samsung 65" HDTV, Denon AVRX6300H, Playstation 3 and Monitor Audio Silver RX 5.0, Monitor Audio CT265IDC(x4) Dolby Atmos and XTZ 12.17 Sub
    My System=Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 Wi-Fi, AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Patriot 16 GB DDR4 3200MHz, 256GB Crucial SSD, Kingston 256GB SSD and 500GB Samsung F3, Palit GTX1070 GameRock Edition , Enermax Liberty 620W, Akasa Eclipse-32,Dell 2715H & Dell U2311H
    Home Server 2/HTPC - HP Gen 8 with 4GB ram, Windows 7 Pro and Crucial M4 128GB SSD, MSI AMD R7 240 2GB, 2x WD Red 3TB 1x 2TB WD Black running XBMC
    Diskstation/HTPC - Synology DS2415+ with 18TB
    Tablet=Microsoft Surface Pro 4 & Huawei M5 10"

  8. #8
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by shaithis View Post
    Trying removing the other hard drive (at least temporarily).

    I've seen a lot of issues where newer and older SATA hard drives do not like co-existing with each other when connected to newer chipsets........
    Only have 2 HDDs (1 with vista on and the other is the 1TB)

    Quote Originally Posted by Neo_VR View Post
    Also try changing the SATA mode in the bios between IDE/AHCI - i have heard of incompatibilites between drives and chipsets (admittedly that was a seagate)
    The pc won't boot under AHCI quite annoying.

    Any more ideas?

  9. #9
    Anthropomorphic Personification shaithis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Last Aerie
    Posts
    10,839
    Thanks
    645
    Thanked
    871 times in 735 posts
    • shaithis's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77 WS
      • CPU:
      • i7 3770k @ 4.5GHz
      • Memory:
      • 32GB HyperX 1866
      • Storage:
      • Lots!
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Sapphire Fury X
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX850
      • Case:
      • Corsair 600T (White)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2 x Dell 3007
      • Internet:
      • Zen 80Mb Fibre

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by Thrungus View Post
    The pc won't boot under AHCI quite annoying.

    Any more ideas?
    Won't boot under AHCI?

    Is that because of Windows drivers or because the system hangs during the disk detection at the BIOS screen?
    Main PC: Asus Rampage IV Extreme / 3960X@4.5GHz / Antec H1200 Pro / 32GB DDR3-1866 Quad Channel / Sapphire Fury X / Areca 1680 / 850W EVGA SuperNOVA Gold 2 / Corsair 600T / 2x Dell 3007 / 4 x 250GB SSD + 2 x 80GB SSD / 4 x 1TB HDD (RAID 10) / Windows 10 Pro, Yosemite & Ubuntu
    HTPC: AsRock Z77 Pro 4 / 3770K@4.2GHz / 24GB / GTX 1080 / SST-LC20 / Antec TP-550 / Hisense 65k5510 4K TV / HTC Vive / 2 x 240GB SSD + 12TB HDD Space / Race Seat / Logitech G29 / Win 10 Pro
    HTPC2: Asus AM1I-A / 5150 / 4GB / Corsair Force 3 240GB / Silverstone SST-ML05B + ST30SF / Samsung UE60H6200 TV / Windows 10 Pro
    Spare/Loaner: Gigabyte EX58-UD5 / i950 / 12GB / HD7870 / Corsair 300R / Silverpower 700W modular
    NAS 1: HP N40L / 12GB ECC RAM / 2 x 3TB Arrays || NAS 2: Dell PowerEdge T110 II / 24GB ECC RAM / 2 x 3TB Hybrid arrays || Network:Buffalo WZR-1166DHP w/DD-WRT + HP ProCurve 1800-24G
    Laptop: Lenovo Flex 2 / 12GB RAM / 240GB Corsair Force 3 Printer: HP CP1515n || Phone: HTC One U11 || Other: Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 Pro 10.1 CM12.1 / Playstation 4 + G29 + 2TB Hybrid drive

  10. #10
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by shaithis View Post
    Won't boot under AHCI?

    Is that because of Windows drivers or because the system hangs during the disk detection at the BIOS screen?
    detects the disks then black screen and restarts.
    I think it flashed a blue screen tho, although not the full vista death blue screen

  11. #11
    Anthropomorphic Personification shaithis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Last Aerie
    Posts
    10,839
    Thanks
    645
    Thanked
    871 times in 735 posts
    • shaithis's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77 WS
      • CPU:
      • i7 3770k @ 4.5GHz
      • Memory:
      • 32GB HyperX 1866
      • Storage:
      • Lots!
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Sapphire Fury X
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX850
      • Case:
      • Corsair 600T (White)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2 x Dell 3007
      • Internet:
      • Zen 80Mb Fibre

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    If it flashes blue before rebooting, then its probably because the AHCI drivers are not loaded in Windows.

    There is a thread here somewhere that details how to make changes in windows before turning AHCI on. It has to be worth trying it.
    Main PC: Asus Rampage IV Extreme / 3960X@4.5GHz / Antec H1200 Pro / 32GB DDR3-1866 Quad Channel / Sapphire Fury X / Areca 1680 / 850W EVGA SuperNOVA Gold 2 / Corsair 600T / 2x Dell 3007 / 4 x 250GB SSD + 2 x 80GB SSD / 4 x 1TB HDD (RAID 10) / Windows 10 Pro, Yosemite & Ubuntu
    HTPC: AsRock Z77 Pro 4 / 3770K@4.2GHz / 24GB / GTX 1080 / SST-LC20 / Antec TP-550 / Hisense 65k5510 4K TV / HTC Vive / 2 x 240GB SSD + 12TB HDD Space / Race Seat / Logitech G29 / Win 10 Pro
    HTPC2: Asus AM1I-A / 5150 / 4GB / Corsair Force 3 240GB / Silverstone SST-ML05B + ST30SF / Samsung UE60H6200 TV / Windows 10 Pro
    Spare/Loaner: Gigabyte EX58-UD5 / i950 / 12GB / HD7870 / Corsair 300R / Silverpower 700W modular
    NAS 1: HP N40L / 12GB ECC RAM / 2 x 3TB Arrays || NAS 2: Dell PowerEdge T110 II / 24GB ECC RAM / 2 x 3TB Hybrid arrays || Network:Buffalo WZR-1166DHP w/DD-WRT + HP ProCurve 1800-24G
    Laptop: Lenovo Flex 2 / 12GB RAM / 240GB Corsair Force 3 Printer: HP CP1515n || Phone: HTC One U11 || Other: Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 Pro 10.1 CM12.1 / Playstation 4 + G29 + 2TB Hybrid drive

  12. #12
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues



    Running Vista and that guide is for XP - shame
    Also thought I would post a Disk Speed Test. Check out those amazing Write Speed Results!

  13. #13
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    A kind bump

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    • BiBenDuM's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5K Premium
      • CPU:
      • Intel E8400@3.9 (Max 4.2 Air)
      • Memory:
      • 4x1Gb Corsair Dominator DDRII PC6400
      • Storage:
      • Many ...
      • Graphics card(s):
      • ATI Radeon HD4850 1Gb
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic 600W (Modular)
      • Case:
      • Antec P180
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Seven 64
      • Monitor(s):
      • HD Ready Sanyo Z5 & Homemade 17" videoprojector
      • Internet:
      • Freebox 15Mb Down 1.5Mb Up

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    Up ^^' sorry for getting this thread back but I must say I've got the exact same problem.

    Asus P5K Premium and HD103UJ disks faulting.
    3 of these disks I've bought 10 months ago were sent back to RMA one after another because of S.M.A.R.T. failure ... and the same problems seemed to start again soon after I replaced them so I decided to search for a hardware issue.
    (I could fill up them up to about 70-90% depending of the disk and then the problems begin : the disk seems to lock-up and copy progress stops)
    These are not system drives, I'm on a separate Adaptec pcie raid card for the system.
    The most interesting thing is :
    - I bought 3 new Western Digital WD1001FALS to replace the Samsung disks and there is no problem with them.
    - I tested my 3 HD103UJ (the new ones) with Samsung tools and low format : no errors / S.M.A.R.T. good (on another computer)
    - I plugged one of the HD103UJ in a esata dock connected to a e-sata pcie card and got no problem with it.
    - Tried the same thing on one of the P5K e-sata and could not even format the drive.
    - My system is AHCI but I tried to get back to IDE = same issues.
    - Didn't try on XP but I first got this issue on Vista 32 and now on Seven 64 ...

    So that looks like a hardware or firmware compatibility issue between P5K and theses HDD.

    Did someone find a solution to this or are we the only 2 people who got this problem ? ^^'

    Thanks for reading me

    edit ... sorry I've just looked forward on google and seen many people got this problem, many of them on P5K but also people on AMD platforms so ... could it be a software issue like vista or seven kernel compatibility ?
    Did someone made some tests under XP ? sorry again ^^
    Last edited by BiBenDuM; 28-08-2009 at 12:38 AM.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked
    18 times in 15 posts
    • Jace007's system
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7 7700k
      • Memory:
      • 16GB
      • Storage:
      • 500GB SSD
      • Graphics card(s):
      • nVidia 1080
      • PSU:
      • EVGA 750w
      • Operating System:
      • WinLOW

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    How about turning SMART off? its just another over head for the system, if you backup your data on a regular basis or have Raid, you can live without it. step's you can take to reduce errors in the 1st place, include when installing the HDD, dont move it around, installl hdd wiht care, make sure you have a decent psu and decent power coming to your system, run a Defrag & chkdsk on the system every 2 months or so, never move a hdd when its powered on

  16. #16
    The late but legendary peterb - Onward and Upward peterb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Looking down & checking on swearing
    Posts
    19,381
    Thanks
    2,892
    Thanked
    3,403 times in 2,693 posts

    Re: Samsung HD103UJ Spinpoint F1 - Write Issues

    AMART is a logging function carried out by the drive, so the overhead is minimal, and remains a useful tool. I'd agree with te point about backing up, but RAID is not a substitute for backing up.

    While hard disks should be handled carefully, they are surprisingly robust, so unless they are dropped they are unlikely to come to much damage during installation. However in this case it doesn't appear to be a hard drive fault as such - three faulty drives, bought at different times, are unlikely to exhibit the same fault.

    There were early reports of incompatibilities between some Samsung drives and some mobos, but I thought they had been resolved now. If an updated BIOS is available for the board, that may solve the problem, but read the details of the upgrade to see if it does address that particular problem.
    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

    Been helped or just 'Like' a post? Use the Thanks button!
    My broadband speed - 750 Meganibbles/minute

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Samsung Spinpoint F DT HD103UJ - capacity error
    By Spook Tooth in forum SCAN.care@HEXUS
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 03-08-2009, 12:57 AM
  2. Replies: 26
    Last Post: 04-04-2009, 08:49 PM
  3. Samsung SpinPoint P80 160GB 8MB
    By itsanobscureid in forum Retail Therapy and Bargains
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-02-2004, 02:12 PM
  4. samsung spinpoint sata 160gig - 82 quid
    By baka in forum Retail Therapy and Bargains
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29-01-2004, 01:23 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •