Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Help with Building a PC

Thanks

Help with Building a PC

I am a first time builder and am planning to build a PC and I have several problems I need help with.

1. My motherboard is microATX, is there anything wrong with this? Are they worse than normal ATX motherboards?

2. Is there anyway I can see if the parts I am getting are all compatible with each other, or will all hard drives, wireless-G adapters, PSU's, and graphics cards work with virtually any case and motherboard?

3. Will buying the following parts (I know I'm missing a PSU) for a total of 392 pounds be a good deal?

AMD Phenom X4 9650 2.3GHz Socket AM2+ 2MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor
    Asus M3A76-CM 760G Socket AM2+ onboard VGA DVI 8 channel audio mATX Motherboard
    Antec 300 Three Hundred Black Case - No PSU
    Samsung EcoGreen F2 1TB Hard Drive SATAII 32MB Cache - OEM
    Tenda Wireless-G PCI Adapter
    Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1066MHz/PC2-8500 HyperX Memory CL5 2.2V
    MSI HD 4870 1GB GDDR5 DVI HDMI VGA Out PCI-E Graphics Card

Thank you in advance
    postdaemon

Thanks

Re: Help with Building a PC

1. There's nothing wrong with mATX motherboards - they are just smaller and sometimes have less features than full ATX boards.
    2. There really isn't much to worry about in terms of compatibility - generally if it fits it works.