Thread: Hiper Type R 580 Watt PSU

Thanks

Hiper Type R 580 Watt PSU

I've been having a few problems with my system being noisey like a hair drier and have been blaming it on the stock P4 630 heatsink and fan. I solved a lot of the problem by simply removing the side of my case, I have a Coolermaster Cavalier 3 and have been blaming the lack of front ventilation holes.

One neat trick with the Hiper Type R is the way the exhaust fan continues to run after the PC has been shut down. It really is almost inaudible, so I wondered how much air a fan that quiet actually shifts.

I shut the PC down, went to see how much airflow I could feel, and I could feel nothing at all. I took my glasses off and stuck my eyeball right next to the exhaust fan, and could still feel nothing.

Being a smoker, I momentarily held a butane gas lighter up to the exhaust fan and the flame got sucked in?!?!?!

Now I tried looking for some notes on why it is this was round but cannot find anything.

I took the side of the case off and held my lighter up to the 120mm bottom fan of the PSU. The flame was blown away towards the P4 heatsink.

Now is it just me, or does the idea of the hot exhaust from a 580 Watt PSU being blown onto an already notoriously hot running CPU seem a little odd?

Is this really a design feature or does anyone think there is a mistake here?

Comments most welcomed.

Richard P
    icq3800846@hotmail.com

Thanks
    Me again, please feel free to ignore the above message. Have received an e-mail from Hiper to confirm this is a fault and my unit should be returned. My unit was bought from PC World and has a manufactured stamp date of April 05. Anyone else with this PSU might be advised to double check the airflow direction.

A small flame from a candle, butane lighter or match held at a reasonably close distance to the outlet will soon let you know which way the wind blows. For obvious reasons it is not advisable to use a widproof Zippo lighter.

Many thanks

Richard P