• Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • Asus MG279Q
      • Internet:
      • 240mbps Virgin Cable

Re: News - Why Battlefield 3 won't be making an appearance on Steam

Quote Originally Posted by snootyjim View Post
    Honestly, I have been desperate to see a BF3 ever since I started playing BF2, which was an extremely long time ago. I think I've got about 600+ hours of BF2 experience, used to play it a heck of a lot at one point.

Now though, I've got a shedload of games through Steam sales, meaning I'm in no rush to acquire new ones at full price, no matter how good they are (still haven't played Portal 2 for instance). And my entire games library is on Steam. I have it running all the time, it's extremely convenient and I'm comfortable running it as my only games platform.

I have games on Origin, but they were all free - there's no way I would fork out money for anything on Origin. Steam makes my life a heck of a lot easier now I've done away with discs and the like, and there's no particular incentive for me to do away with that convenience and start complicating things again.

If EA want to leave Steam out of the equation, then fine, it's up to them. But I won't be buying it.

The last non-Steam enabled games I purchased were a few for the Hexus LAN, because I didn't have them and they were overpriced on Steam direct download. Before that, i.e. when not forced to by circumstance, it was probably CoD4 in 2007. Not certain, but it's the last one I can find in my order histories.
    This.

Times a billion.

EA can get stuffed if they try to use a game release as a launch driver for their own game platform. I need each publisher to have their own game distribution platform like I need a bullet in the head.
    Quote Originally Posted by Agent View Post
    ...every time Creative bring out a new card range their advertising makes it sound like they have discovered a way to insert a thousand Chuck Norris super dwarfs in your ears...