• Case:
      • Silverstone Fortress FT01
      • Operating System:
      • Win10
      • Internet:
      • Zen FTC uber speedy

Money Saved on Electricity in One Year

Lo people

One year ago... I started saving money on electricity. I started learning which things needed turning OFF at the wall and which could stay on.

http://forums.hexus.net/general-disc...lot-money.html

I had purchased a gadget to plug into my wall plugs which then I plugged things into it.. to see how much power they used, On and OFF, standby and in full use.
    http://forums.hexus.net/general-disc...ng-device.html

I got rid of two older fridge/freezers and purcahsed one brand new efficient large one. I spwapped as many bulbs as possible for energy savers.

I learned to turn things off properly when not it use. I paid for multi block switches for Sair's PC so that she could turn off all of her PC's, Monitor, Speakers etc with one easily reached plug. It seemed silly from some quarters.. but I did it.

I moved around plugs to different sockets so that I could turn OFF stuff that could GO off (DVD/Amp/CD player/PS2/Wii)... and leave things on 24/7 that needed to be on (ie TV aerial booster and Settop box/recorder PVR)

Last year vs this year. Top darker sections are Economy 7 (midnight until 7am) showing that the savings occur all day and night long even though it's cheaper at night to run this stuff.

Obviously, the summer months are less electricity heavy.. no lights on, less pumping of water for heating, etc.. but it's still a saving. In winter it's a huge saving.... energy sabing bulbs MUST be partly to be praised.... but I THINK it's the down to a new fridge freezer that's done most of that....
    http://forums.hexus.net/general-disc...-freezers.html

Quote Originally Posted by Advice Trinity by Knoxville
    "The second you aren't paying attention to the tool you're using, it will take your fingers from you. It does not know sympathy." |