• Ghost S1 V2
      • Operating System:
      • W10
      • Monitor(s):
      • LG IPS 27" 144Hz QHD
      • Internet:
      • three4g & nighthawk MR1100

Recipe box subscriptions

So in theory I'm a good cook, but living alone (with mental health issues) has led to a big tendency to cook the same old boring stuff every week, and I thought I'd try out a recipe box subscription - for those who don't know, they provide the right quantity of ingredients and a recipe for a meal.

I've been using Gousto, and after the first month getting I think 10 or 20% off, the price now works out at £35 (including delivery) for 4 meals of 2 portions each, working out at £4.37 / portion, which is not bad - certainly more than if I'm buying the ingredients from the supermarket or local shops, but then again, there's some wastage possible with that option, and much less with this option. It's also far cheaper than eating out, of course, you don't need to be a good cook for any of the recipes, as far as I can tell, and so far I've enjoyed everything, the scrambled tofu stir-fry in particular standing out. I'm considering some other options such as Abel & Cole or Morrisons and wondering if anyone else has tried them.

Another benefit of course is that it means going to the supermarket a lot less often and therefore not having to deal with increased risk of covid.

Registered+
    Thanks

Re: Recipe box subscriptions

We've been doing hello fresh on a similar deal. Seems like they are worth doing when you have offers on. Wouldn't run it for long at full price. But have kept the recipe cards and will definitely do some again

Thanks
    • jimbouk's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B450M-HDV R4.0
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 5 3600
      • Memory:
      • Corsair Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4 3200 MHz C16
      • Storage:
      • Sabrent Rocket Q 1TB NVMe PCIe M.2 2280
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Sapphire Pulse RX 580 8GB
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic Core Gold GC-650