Page 4 of 41 FirstFirst 1234567142434 ... LastLast
Results 49 to 64 of 646

Thread: P5K Deluxe Wifi AP Thread.

  1. #49
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Just found idiotic design flaw number 3.

    The cmos jumper, is impossible to get to without removing the graphics card, and even then, its really awkward to get to.

    Im not entirely sure why I needed to reset the cmos, all I did was reboot and it wouldnt start, just black screen. Lets hope the cmos clear works
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  2. #50
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Thought ram was dead for a minute there.

    Reset cmos for 5 mins...still nothing. Took one stick of ram out, still nothing, swapped it for the other, it booted. Swapped the other back, it booted again

    Put both back in, its priming away again Maybe one of the sticks of ram is on its way out. Im doing well with those, Ive had them for about 6 weeks
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  3. #51
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    684
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked
    5 times in 5 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    Just found idiotic design flaw number 3.

    The cmos jumper, is impossible to get to without removing the graphics card, and even then, its really awkward to get to.

    Im not entirely sure why I needed to reset the cmos, all I did was reboot and it wouldnt start, just black screen. Lets hope the cmos clear works
    The board is sounding worse and worse. Hopefully its just a Bios problem, I still want to get one of those boards so hopefully theres no idiotic design flaw 4,5 and so on

  4. #52
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Nah, Im just mentioning the problems as i find them.

    Good points.

    Overclocks well, especially since it has an early bios.
    100% stable so far.
    Nice build quality for Asus.
    Heatpipes fit well for a change.
    Recovers well from a bad overclock.
    does 500FSB with a quad core, probably more with a better chip.
    Mosfets are in a straight line which makes cooling them easier. (other Asus boards had them in an offset pattern so part of them didnt get cooled).

    Bad points.

    Mostly layout problems, including;
    SATA ports partially obscured by GTX card. (workable with angled cables)
    Main PCI-E slot very close to SB. (dont use a big cooler)
    Graphics card needs to be removed to get at the CMOS jumper and battery.

    The good outweighs the bad so far
    Last edited by Clunk; 13-05-2007 at 04:31 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  5. #53
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    684
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked
    5 times in 5 posts
    I wonder if they might change the Sata ports (angled like Commando iirc), make a version 2 or something as most graphics cards are that long or will be soon, otherwise just use an angled Sata connector. The rest sounds like u can still work around it Thought it had a Cmos button?

  6. #54
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    1,120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked
    22 times in 21 posts
    I wonder if they might change the Sata ports (angled like Commando iirc), make a version 2 or something
    Knowing asus within a couple of months there'll be a couple of dozen P5K variants, if any of the bad points clunk mentioned are big hitters for u.

  7. #55
    its all clear now
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,251
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked
    19 times in 17 posts
    • No.72's system
      • Motherboard:
      • commando
      • CPU:
      • e6300 3.50ghz artic 7
      • Memory:
      • 4gb corsair red tracers
      • Storage:
      • 320gb RAID0
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 4870XT
      • PSU:
      • 620 watt corsair
      • Case:
      • coolmaster 831 SE orange
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2407WFP AO4
      • Internet:
      • 10 meg virgin
    The commando is better, it's just the first few boards were ****e, so many will tell you its a ****e board.

  8. #56
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by No.72 View Post
    The commando is better, it's just the first few boards were ****e, so many will tell you its a ****e board.
    So far, this is infinitely better than the 3 commando boards that I had, in every way, except for the sata slots.

    Build quality is better, bios is better
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  9. #57
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    1,120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked
    22 times in 21 posts
    The commando is better
    sorry better than what??

  10. #58
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    It had been ill
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  11. #59
    HEXUS.social member Agent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    19,159
    Thanks
    733
    Thanked
    1,605 times in 1,044 posts
    You got a Quad GT to compare it to?
    Quote Originally Posted by Saracen View Post
    And by trying to force me to like small pants, they've alienated me.

  12. #60
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked
    2 times in 2 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    thats if it doesnt explode in a ball of flames
    We want pictures if it does

  13. #61
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked
    2 times in 2 posts
    What's it like compared to the P5B Deluxe ?

    EDIT: Forget it. Just gone through pages 3 and 4 of this thread.

  14. #62
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Agent View Post
    You got a Quad GT to compare it to?
    If you send me yours, Ill compare it fully and post it back to you with the results
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  15. #63
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Found a small isue with the bios which has been common on c2d boards for a while.

    If the cmos resets, due to a bad overclock, you only get 1 boot to change the ram voltage. After that, it wont boot, it just hangs before post.

    Its definately a bios issue, and most boards had this fixed in bios revisions.

    A workaround is;

    Remove one stick of ram, it should boot first time, get into the bios, change voltages to whatever it should be (2.35v-2.45v in my case), save and exit, then power down, refit the other stick and away you go.

    Hopefully this will be of use to someone
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  16. #64
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    922
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    30 times in 30 posts
    • Marcvs's system
      • CPU:
      • Acer Aspire 5810T
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7/Mac OSX Lion
      • Monitor(s):
      • Viewsonic 22" (1920*1200)
    well Ive got one now so when i can get round to i ill do a lill testing

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Asus P5B DeLuxe WiFi AP
    By billbruen in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 89
    Last Post: 19-04-2008, 07:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •