• Case:
      • Fractal Design Arc Midi 2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell P2414H

Turbo or Fixed overclock?

Hello

I have a new gigabyte ga z77-d3h. Got a cheap upgrade which allowed me to move from my old amd phenom.
    I'm new to Intel overclocking, been reading guides galore etc but still confused.

I want power saving options to remain so my overclock downclocks and reduces voltage when not running full load.
    My understanding is set multiplier to required amount (ie 45) then turn off all power saving options. Set vcore to say 1.3 then stress test using Prime95 and adjust voltage if needed (or reduce if stable to get lowest voltage possible).
    Once that's done, how do you set the power saving options?
    Some say set vcore to 'Normal' then use VID to adjust to reach desired stable voltage. Others claim to use Turbo to set the turbo to 45 and then it downclocks properly.
    Are C3/C6 states needed or is C1E sufficient?

Thanks

Specs are:
    i7 2600k, GA Z77-D3H, 8gb Teamgroup Orange 2400, running on a dual rad.

Banhammer in peace PeterB kalniel's Avatar
    Thanks
    • kalniel's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
      • CPU:
      • Intel i9 9900k
      • Memory:
      • 32GB DDR4 3200 CL16
      • Storage:
      • 1TB Samsung 970Evo+ NVMe
      • Graphics card(s):
      • nVidia GTX 1060 6GB
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic 600W
      • Case:
      • Cooler Master HAF 912
      • Operating System:
      • Win 10 Pro x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell S2721DGF
      • Internet:
      • rubbish

Re: Turbo or Fixed overclock?

Quote Originally Posted by JJimmyJ View Post
    Hello

I have a new gigabyte ga z77-d3h. Got a cheap upgrade which allowed me to move from my old amd phenom.
    I'm new to Intel overclocking, been reading guides galore etc but still confused.

I want power saving options to remain so my overclock downclocks and reduces voltage when not running full load.